> Skip to content
  • Published: 28 September 2021
  • ISBN: 9781784165338
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $22.99

Three Women and a Boat

A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Title




A joyful journey of self-discovery and unexpected friendship for fans of Rachel Joyce's HAROLD FRY, Clare Chambers' SMALL PLEASURES and Barbara Pym classics

Tender and humorous novel of second chances and life-changing new friendship for fans of Rachel Joyce, Clare Chambers and Barbara Pym

'Life-affirming and funny' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING
'Anne Youngson's witty and elegant novel is a celebration of friendship and a timely reminder that it is never too late to take on a life-changing new challenge' DAILY MAIL
Meet Eve, who has departed from her thirty-year career to become a Free Spirit; Sally, who has waved goodbye to her indifferent husband and two grown-up children; and Anastasia, a defiantly independent narrowboat-dweller, suddenly vulnerable as she awaits a life-saving operation.

Inexperienced and ill-equipped, Sally and Eve embark upon a journey through the canals of England, guided by the remote and unsympathetic Anastasia. As they glide gently - and not so gently - through the countryside, the eccentricities and challenges of canalboat life draw them inexorably together, and a tender and unforgettable story unfolds.

Disarmingly truthful and narrated with a rare wit, THREE WOMEN AND A BOAT is a journey over the glorious waterways of England and into the unfathomable depths of the human heart by an inspirational new talent now in her seventies.

**********
What customers are saying:

'Moving, tender and just a balm for the soul' *****
'Perfect for those in need of an uplifting read' ****
'A warm and enjoyable read' *****

  • Published: 28 September 2021
  • ISBN: 9781784165338
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $22.99

About the author

Anne Youngson

ANNE YOUNGSON lives in Oxfordshire and is married with two children and two grandchildren to date. MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM, her debut novel, was shortlisted for the Costa Best First Novel Award and won the inaugural Paul Torday prize for debut fiction by writers over sixty. Her exquisite new novel is also about the joy of discovering new experiences and friendships. Her work is published around the world.

Also by Anne Youngson

See all

Praise for Three Women and a Boat

A gentle meander down England's waterways with bittersweet charm

Mail on Sunday

Life-affirming and funny

Good Housekeeping

A tender story of friendship amidst the challenges and glory of canal-boat life

Woman's Weekly

A joy to read

CultureFly

Gentle and charming. A chance to think about what really matters

Reader's Digest

A voyage of discover at @3 mph

Strong Words Magazine

A tender story of female friendship

Woman Magazine

Anne Youngson's witty and elegant novel is a celebration of friendship and a timely reminder that it is never too late to take on a daunting (but life-changing) new challenge

DAILY MAIL

Related titles