> Skip to content
Play sample
  • Published: 10 October 2023
  • ISBN: 9781787303362
  • Imprint: Harvill Secker
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 816
  • RRP: $34.99

The Wolves of Eternity

The incredible new series continues with this, the prequel to The Morning Star. Experience a major new literary universe in the making, projected to be six astonishing books

The future is no more, and eternity has begun.

It's 1986 and a nuclear reactor has exploded in Chernobyl. Syvert Løyning returns home from military service to live with his mother and brother on the outskirts of a town in Southern Norway. One night, he dreams of his late father, and can't shake him from his mind. Searching through his father's belongings for clues and connections, he finds a cache of letters that lead to the Soviet Union.

In present-day Russia, Alevtina is trying to balance work and family. She has always sought the answers to life's big questions, but is preoccupied with care of her young son. Her friend Vasilisa offers some nourishment: she is writing a book about an ancient feature of Russian culture, the belief in eternal life. Meantime, Alevtina is heading towards a meeting that will redraw the contours of her world.

A searching and humane novel, The Wolves of Eternity is an intimate journey into the experiences of a half-brother and half-sister in their two different - yet deeply connected - lives. The second novel in Karl Ove Knausgaard's extraordinary new series, it expands the universe of The Morning Star in the decades before the blazing and mysterious star descends.

  • Published: 10 October 2023
  • ISBN: 9781787303362
  • Imprint: Harvill Secker
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 816
  • RRP: $34.99

About the author

Karl Ove Knausgaard

Karl Ove Knausgaard’s My Struggle cycle has been heralded as a masterpiece all over the world. From A Death in the Family to The End, the novels move through childhood into adulthood and, together, form an enthralling portrait of human life. Knausgaard has been awarded the Norwegian Critics Prize for Literature, the Brage Prize and the Jerusalem Prize. His work, which also includes Out of the World, A Time for Everything and the Seasons Quartet, is published in thirty-five languages.

Also by Karl Ove Knausgaard

See all

Praise for The Wolves of Eternity

I read The Morning Star compulsively, and stayed awake all night after finishing it.

Brandon Taylor

Knausgaard is among the finest writers alive.

New York Times

[An] enormously compelling book… The range of subjects The Wolves of Eternity explores is fascinating

Sunday Times

Casts an existential spell…captivating… Big themes — the cosmos, death and resurrection — are amplified through ghostly visitations, doppelgänger lives and the question of what, if anything, lies beyond human existence

Financial Times


Telegraph ****

The nature and possibility of immortality is a recurring theme, and digressions abound — communicating trees, broken families, Chernobyl, death, etc. But by sticking close to his characters, Knausgaard addresses those heady topics with an easy-going grace

LA Times

Compulsively readable...Knausgaard remains one of the great chroniclers of the moment-by-moment experience of life

Washington Post

An intelligent, expansive novel


Immersive… It is so engrossing and entertaining that I crammed in its 800 pages like a glutton devouring a box of chocolates


Knausgaard, master of fiction as an inquiry into the self, now revives fiction as an inquiry into the cosmos, re-enchanting the latter with those beguiling secrets science had stolen from it