> Skip to content

Man, monster - or werewolf? A mesmerising new novel from the undisputed Queen of paranormal fiction.

MAN OR MONSTER?

Anne Rice reinvented the vampire legend.
Discover what she's done with the werewolf myth.

After a brutal attack Reuben finds himself changing. His hair is longer, his skin is more sensitive and her can hear things he never could before.

Now he must confront the beast within him or lose himself completely.

Reviews

What makes this novel special is the changes the author rings on the werewolf theme... This allows Rice to spin both a convincing thriller and an inquisition on the nature of good and evil – a recurring theme in her work. Superb.

Guardian

The Wolf Gift is vintage Anne Rice – a lushly written, gothic... metaphysical tale.

Wall Street Journal

I want to howl at the moon over this... I devoured these pages... [A] terrific new novel. . . The plot [is] magnetic, the characters fascinating.

The Boston Globe

A thrilling, page-turning yarn.

Booklist

[Rice] returns to the lushly evocative scenery and gothic atmosphere of her vampire novels with great success. . . her reimagining of a well-worn mythology is fresh and intriguing. Fans of Rice's 'The Vampire Chronicles' and 'The Lives of the Mayfair Witches' series should delight in this new saga delivered in the author's distinctive style. Part creation story, part love story, all excellent!

Library Journal

Anne Rice has done it again. In her latest novel, The Wolf Gift, the woman who single-handedly, reinvented the vampire genre puts her formidable talent to work rewriting 'were-wolf' lore and in the end succeeds magnificently.

Examiner

[A]n energetic gambol, feisty and terrific fun. . . . [A] fast-paced, heady romp that ranks with her best. . . The Wolf Gift is irresistible.

The Dallas Morning News

[I]n Rice's hands, The Wolf Gift evolves from a fantastical romp into an engrossing thriller. . .

San Francisco Chronicle

Wilde at his height, in The Picture of Dorian Gray (like The Wolf Gift, a morality tale about transformation), is Rice’s true precursor. He preferred paradox to uncomplicated alternatives, and was most at home in the dark light of ghost stories, church shadows and fairy tales. This is the energy of The Wolf Gift. It is wit-filled, languid and vibrant, brainy and snarling. It will leave open-minded readers howling for more.

The Globe and Mail

A superior thriller... the mix of ancient and modern, familiar and inventive, and the fact that Rice easily drops in elements that other people would save for a quick sequel – all this proves there is MORE in this book. And ultimately that means more satisfaction.

bookbag.co.uk

I didn't want to put it down for a second.

warpcoresf.co.uk

The Wolf Gift is pure Anne Rice. It is dark. It is romantic. It is fast-paced and gripping. It is engaging and perhaps most importantly, it is fresh. Anne Rice has done with werewolves, exactly what she’s done for vampires, witches and angels and given them a complete make-over and her individual twist on their background. She’s re-invented and re-written the mythology of the genre.

iamelpi.com

Anne Rice of the famous Vampire Chronicles is back, but this time she has put her fangs away and comes baring claws... This is sure to mark the beginning of a new saga for Rice and is equally sure to the guilty pleasure for many a fantasy horror fan.

welovethisbook.com

This book has it all: a great plot, fantastic characters, suspense and romance. A new and refreshing twist on werewolf stories. I enjoyed the book immensely.

Michelle Ward, Weekend Post

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780099574828

    May 1, 2013

    Arrow

    592 pages

    RRP $19.99

    Online retailers

    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Dymocks
    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781448135318

    March 28, 2013

    Cornerstone Digital

    592 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle AU
    • iBooks
    • Google Play EBook AU
    • Kobo Ebook
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks