> Skip to content
  • Published: 30 August 2022
  • ISBN: 9780241514504
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $16.99

The Whisperling



Spooky historical middle-grade debut by author Hayley Hoskins, perfect for fans of Emma Carroll and Robin Stevens.

1897.
Peggy Devona is a Whisperling, someone who can speak with the dead. It's a skill she tries to keep secret from the rest of her village, who fear anyone 'different'.

But when her best friend is accused of murder and thrown in a Bristol gaol, Peggy realises she must use her abilities to save Sally and solve the case.

Away from home the plot thickens at her Uncle's psychic emporium, where Peggy finds herself surrounded by new friends, new enemies, and new spirits. Who can she trust?

Peggy is running out of time, and every day she spends getting closer to the truth also brings Sally a step closer to the gallows . . .

  • Published: 30 August 2022
  • ISBN: 9780241514504
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $16.99

About the author

Hayley Hoskins

Long-listed for the Bath Children's Novel award, Hayley writes in the space between family and work, with much support from her writing group.
Mum to a teenage boy, she spends a disproportionate amount of time hoping that her son's life is far less complicated than those of the characters in her books, and trying to ensure he becomes a 'good egg'.
Originally from the Forest of Dean, Hayley lives with her family and hairy breeze-block of a dog in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire.

Related titles