> Skip to content
  • Published: 13 November 2017
  • ISBN: 9781785035623
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $19.99

The One

The unputdownable psychological thriller




HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO FIND THE ONE? A unique and heart-stopping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of BEHIND HER EYES and BLACK MIRROR.

NOW A MAJOR NETFLIX ORIGINAL DRAMA

HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO FIND THE ONE?
A #1 ebook bestseller and featured on Simon Mayo's Radio 2 book club. Perfect for fans of BEHIND HER EYES and BLACK MIRROR.

One simple mouth swab is all it takes. A quick DNA test to find your perfect partner - the one you're genetically made for.

A decade after scientists discover everyone has a gene they share with just one other person, millions have taken the test, desperate to find true love. Now, five more people meet their Match. But even soul mates have secrets. And some are more shocking - and deadlier - than others...
_____________________________
With over 3000 5* reviews, this is what real readers are saying about this addictive, page-turning thriller:

'I just couldn't stop reading'

'Brilliant twists that I didn't see coming'

'One of the most gripping stories I've read for a long while'

'I was hooked and didn't want it to end'


(Note: Previously published as A Thousand Small Explosions)

  • Published: 13 November 2017
  • ISBN: 9781785035623
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

John Marrs

John Marrs is a former journalist from Northamptonshire, England, who spent 25 years interviewing celebrities from the world of television, film and music for national newspapers and magazines.

He wrote for publications including The Guardian’s Guide and Guardian Online; OK! Magazine; Total Film; Empire; Q; GT; The Independent; Star; Reveal; Company; Daily Star and News of the World’s Sunday Magazine.

He recently gave up his job to write novels full time. His first car at the age of seventeen was a three-door, Ford Escort with a Batman sticker in the rear windscreen. He thought the sticker was cool at the time.

Also by John Marrs

See all

Praise for The One

The Swordfish and the Star is a fine, and at times really beautiful, book. It has a tough no-nonsense prose style that I very much admire. A style that entirely fits the lives of the people it is about, people who live tough lives where the land meets the sea at the far end of Cornwall. There are too few books that tell, so respectfully and truthfully, the stories of the men and women that make a living from the land and the sea

James Rebanks, author of The Shepherd's Life

This is a marvellous and humane book about Cornwall -- and unusual: a travel book with no 'I' -- rather the traveller as a silent observer and patient listener. It is Cornish life as told by its people -- fishermen, farmers, publicans, singers, brawlers, historians, drunks, old-timers, newcomers and even D H Lawrence and King Arthur

Paul Theroux

Wonderfully evocative, from the title to the last line. Knight has condensed the detailed tales and tragedies from decades of fishing, to produce a real insight into those who brave the sea. Full of brotherhood and triumph, loss and sadness

Matt Lewis, author of Last Man Off

Knight recounts fascinating detail, but also shows a novelist's skill in painting a vivid picture of real Cornwall and real Cornish people: Shane Meadows meets The Perfect Storm

Esquire

[Knight] is as adept with words as his hero Nutty Noah the Cadgwith ring-netter is with a shoal of pilchards ... exhilarating

Tom Fort, Literary Review

A hugely refreshing dunk in the ocean ... fascinating

Roger Cox, Scotland on Sunday

An immersive account... It is an eye-opening, dramatic and poignant account of life on Cornwall's most dangerous coast and the people who fish it.

Western Morning News

A genuine and powerful insight into the lives of people who brave the sea for a living

Choice Magazine

Knight has gone in search of old smells and danger and found them in spades. There are extraordinarily evocative stories here, of the mad bravado of scarred, de-fingered fishermen and the stoicism of their women... As a cross-section of west Cornish lives, a celebration of brave eccentricity and a prose illustration of the way those lives overlap and interrelate, The Swordfish and the Star takes some beating

Patrick Gale, Guardian

The Swordfish and the Star gets top rating for its often searing honesty and its portrayal of fallibility in a harsh, unforgiving world... a terrific read... remarkable

Des Hannigan, Western Morning News, Devon

The reading public has become interested in the social anthropology of our relationship with nature and a slew of authors has explored the interdependence of people and the natural world. The best give us a language to read the world around us... This helps explain what's different and admirable about The Swordfish and the Star... Knight does immersive journalism. This account of the lives of the fishing community on both sides of the Penwith Peninsula is driven by personal anecdote... the obsessive, personal tangle with the sea in search of fishy riches, the fortunes made, the lives lost, the courage and recklessness

Will Cohu, Oldie

A terrific new book about a hard and dangerous way of life

Esquire, Book of the Year

An alternative perspective, telling the stories of the fishermen who work on this treacherous stretch of coast, tales gathered over two years of interviews, many conducted in the Swordfish and Star of the title

Tom Robbins, Financial Times Books of the Year

Related titles