> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 1 May 2010
  • ISBN: 9781409095040
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

The Surgeon

(Rizzoli & Isles series 1)




DEJA DEAD meets ER: a high voltage serial-killer-thriller in the vein of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell.

Today they will find her body. I know how it will happen. I can picture, quite vividly, the sequence of events that will lead to the discovery…

In Boston, there’s a killer on the loose. A killer who targets lone women, who breaks into their apartments and performs terrifying ritualistic acts of torture on his victims before finishing them off. His surgical skills lead police to suspect he is a physician – a physician who, instead of saving lives, takes them.

But as homicide detective Thomas Moore and his partner Jane Rizzoli begin their investigation, they make a startling discovery. Closely linked to these killings is Catherine Cordell, a beautiful medic with a mysterious past. Two years ago she was subjected to a horrifying rape and attempted murder but shot her attacker dead. Now she is being targeted by this new killer who seems to know all about her past, her work at the Pilgrim Medical Center, and where she lives. The man she believes she killed seems to be stalking her once again, and this time he knows exactly where to find her…

  • Pub date: 1 May 2010
  • ISBN: 9781409095040
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

About the Author

Tess Gerritsen

Bestselling author Tess Gerritsen is also a physician, and she brings to her novels her first-hand knowledge of emergency and autopsy rooms. Her thrillers starring homicide detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles inspired the hit TV series Rizzoli & Isles. But Tess’s interests span far more than medicine and crime. As an anthropology student at Stanford University, she catalogued centuries-old human remains, and she continues to travel the world, driven by her fascination with ancient cultures and bizarre natural phenomena.

Also by Tess Gerritsen

See all

Praise for The Surgeon

“Grabbed me by the throat and didn't let go until its hair-raising finish. Deep, dark and very disturbing.”

Tami Hoag


Related titles