> Skip to content
  • Published: 31 March 2013
  • ISBN: 9781448183494
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 560

The Spanish Bow




A stunning, sweeping novel about the power of art and music to shape lives and nations, set in early 20th century Spain, told through the eyes of cellist Feliu Delargo. For readers of The Shadow of the Wind .

When Feliu Delargo is born, late-nineteenth-century Spain is a nation slipping from international power and struggling with its own fractured identity, caught between the chaos of post-empire and impending Civil War.

Feliu's troubled childhood and rise to fame lead him into a thorny partnership with an even more famous and eccentric figure, the piano prodigy Justo Al-Cerraz. The two musicians' divergent artistic goals and political inclinations threaten to divide them as Spain plunges into Civil War. But as Civil War turns to World War, shared love for their trio partner -- an Italian violinist named Aviva -- forces them into their final and most dangerous collaboration.

  • Published: 31 March 2013
  • ISBN: 9781448183494
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 560

About the author

Andromeda Romano-Lax

Andromeda Romano-Lax is the author of The Spanish Bow, a New York Times Editors' Choice that has been translated into 11 languages, The Detour, and Behave, as well as numerous works of nonfiction. She teaches creative writing and is a co-founder of 49 Writers, a statewide literary organization. She has lived in Alaska, Taiwan and Mexico and is currently on Vancouver Island in
British Columbia.

Also by Andromeda Romano-Lax

See all

Praise for The Spanish Bow

Impressive... The epic story of Feliu Delargo, an underprivileged child prodigy whose musical ability brings him into contact with world leaders, first-class artists and a life filled with loss and triumph... For sheer scope and ambition, this is a tough debut to beat.

Publishers Weekly

The book is almost dizzyingly episodic, but bound together by Feliu's lifelong struggle with the question of the proper relationship between music and politics, a subject Romano-Lax handles with finesse. ... A deft, inventive debut.

Kirkus Reviews

This riveting historical page-turner moves inexorably toward a heartrending crescendo.

Booklist

An impressive and richly atmospheric debut.

New York Times Book Review

Related titles