> Skip to content
Play sample
  • Published: 8 December 2023
  • ISBN: 9780241994412
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 352

The Secrets of Rochester Place

Unravel this spellbinding tale of family drama, love and betrayal




A lost child.
A long-kept secret.
The house that holds the key.

Spring 1937: Teresa, a young Basque girl, is evacuated to London in the wake of the Guernica bombing. She thinks she has reached safety in the lofty halls of Rochester Place and the soothing arms of Mary Davidson, but trouble seeks her out wherever she goes...

Autumn 2020: Corinne, an emergency services operator, receives a call from a distressed woman called Mary. But when the ambulance arrives at Rochester Place - the address the woman gave them - she is nowhere to be found. No matter how hard she tries to forget, memories of Mary's raw fear haunt Corinne and secrets, long-hidden in Corinne's family tree, begin to surface.

Is Mary calling from beyond the grave? And what actually happened at Rochester Place all those years ago?

Set between the dusty halls of Rochester Place and the bustling streets of modern-day Tooting, this emotive, intricately layered mystery tells the spellbinding story of two people, separated by time, yet mysteriously connected through an enchanting Georgian house and the secrets within its walls. The perfect escapist read for fans of Kate Morton, Eve Chase and Lulu Taylor.

  • Published: 8 December 2023
  • ISBN: 9780241994412
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 352

Also by Iris Costello

See all

Praise for The Secrets of Rochester Place

An intriguing story which skilfully entwines the past and present

Heidi Swain, A Taste of Home

A treasure of a novel . . . The perfect winter read

Amanda Prowse, To Love and Be Loved

Simply spellbinding, very addictive, and so beautifully written

Sophie Irwin, A Ladies Guide to Fortune Hunting