> Skip to content
  • Published: 22 September 2016
  • ISBN: 9780141357928
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 300

The Racehorse Who Wouldn't Gallop




The debut children's novel from broadcaster and national treasure, Clare Balding.

Charlie Bass is a horse-mad ten-year-old who dreams of owning her own pony. So when she accidentally manages to buy a racehorse, Charlie is thrilled.

The horse she buys, Noble Warrior, looks the part: strong, fit and healthy. There's just one problem - he won't gallop. In fact, he won't even leave his stable without his best friend, a naughty palomino pony called Percy.

Charlie is convinced that Noble Warrior has what it takes to be a champion. But can she prove it? Derby Day is fast approaching and only a win can save the family farm from being repossessed.

The stakes couldn't be higher for the Basses. Can Charlie turn her chaotic family into a top training team? Can Noble Warrior overcome his nerves? Will Percy the pony ever stop farting?

Find out in this classic, funny animal story, perfect for fans of Dick King-Smith and Gerald Durrell.

  • Published: 22 September 2016
  • ISBN: 9780141357928
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 300

About the authors

Clare Balding

Clare Balding is an award-winning presenter, writer and broadcaster who has been presenting sports on television since 1998, when she became synonymous with horse racing on the BBC. Since then, she has reported on five Olympic Games (from Atlanta, Sydney, Athens, Beijing and London) as well as four Paralympic Games and three Winter Olympics. In addition, she is well known for her rugby league coverage; has presented Crufts; and hosts BBC Radio 4's walking series Ramblings. She has also covered ceremonial events such as the Lord Mayor's Show, Trooping the Colour and the Queen's Diamond Jubilee. Her autobiography, My Animals and Other Family, was published in 2012 and won the National Book Award for biography of the year. It has sold over a quarter of a million copies in hardback. The same year, she won the BAFTA Special Award and RTS Presenter of the Year Award for her coverage of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games. In 2013, she was awarded an OBE for services to broadcasting and journalism in the Queen's Birthday Honours List.

Praise for The Racehorse Who Wouldn't Gallop

A heart-warming story with a great girl-power message

Jacqueline Wilson

Related titles