> Skip to content
  • Published: 28 May 2024
  • ISBN: 9781728293462
  • Imprint: Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $32.99
Categories:

The President's Wife




They called her the First Lady. They should have referred to her as Madame President. Discover the woman who stepped up and saved her husband—and her country. Now in trade paperback!

"A vivid portrait of a woman whose remarkable role and achievements in history have largely been relegated to the shadows... A fascinating read!" —Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of Sold on a Monday and The Ways We Hide
The incredible story of the First Lady who clandestinely assumed the presidency, perfect for readers of Marie Benedict and Fiona Davis.

Socialite Edith Bolling has been in no hurry to find a new husband since she was widowed, preferring to fill her days with good friends and travel. But the enchanting courting of President Woodrow Wilson wins Edith over and she becomes the First Lady of the United States. The position is uncomfortable for the fiercely independent Edith, but she's determined to rise to the challenges of her new marriage—from the bloodthirsty press to the shadows of the first World War.

Warming to her new role, Edith is soon indispensable to her husband's presidency. She replaces the staff that Woodrow finds distracting, and discusses policy with him daily. Throughout the war, she encrypts top- secret messages and despite lacking formal education becomes an important adviser. When peace talks begin in Europe, she attends at Woodrow's side. But just as the critical fight to ratify the treaty to end the war and create a League of Nations in order to prevent another, Woodrow's always-delicate health takes a dramatic turn for the worse. In her determination to preserve both his progress and his reputation, Edith all but assumes the presidency herself.

Now, Edith must contend with the demands of a tumultuous country, the secrets of Woodrow's true condition, and the potentially devastating consequences of her failure. At once sweeping and intimate, The President's Wife is an astonishing portrait of a courageous First Lady and the sacrifices she made to protect her husband and her country at all costs.

Perfect for fans of bestselling historical fiction authors Marie Benedict, Fiona Davis, and Kate Quinn!

  • Published: 28 May 2024
  • ISBN: 9781728293462
  • Imprint: Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $32.99
Categories:

About the author

Tracey Enerson Wood

TRACEY ENERSON WOOD is a published playwright whose family is steeped in military tradition. Katharine, the Wright Sister is her fourth novel.

Also by Tracey Enerson Wood

See all