> Skip to content
  • Published: 20 July 2021
  • ISBN: 9780753557815
  • Imprint: WH Allen
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 448
  • RRP: $35.00
Categories:

The Pathfinders

The Greatest Untold Story of the Air War against the Nazis




The untold story of the elite force that spearheaded almost every British bombing raid over Nazi Germany, by the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Kamikaze Hunters. Perfect for fans of John Nichol's Spitfire, Patrick Bishop's Fighter Boys and Dambusters

The incredible story of the crack team of men and women who transformed RAF Bomber Command and helped the Allies deliver decisive victory over Nazi Germany.

The Pathfinders were ordinary men and women from a range of nations who revolutionised the efficiency of the Allies' air campaign over mainland Europe. They elevated Bomber Command - initially the only part of the Allied war effort capable of attacking the heart of Nazi Germany - from an impotent force on the cusp of disintegration in 1942 to one capable of razing whole German cities to the ground in a single night, striking with devastating accuracy, inspiring fear and loathing in Hitler's senior command.

With exclusive interviews with remaining survivors, personal diaries, previously classified records and never-before seen photographs, The Pathfinders brings to life the characters of the airmen and women - many barely out of their teens - who took to the skies in legendary British aircraft such as the Lancaster and the Mosquito, facing almost unimaginable levels of violence from enemy fighter planes to strike at the heart of the Nazi war machine.

  • Published: 20 July 2021
  • ISBN: 9780753557815
  • Imprint: WH Allen
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 448
  • RRP: $35.00
Categories:

About the author

Will Iredale

Will Iredale joined the Sunday Times in 1999, working first on the foreign news desk and subsequently the home news desk, where as a staff reporter he specialised in general news and undercover investigations. He is currently a media consultant and lives in Kent with his family.

Related titles