> Skip to content
Play sample
  • Published: 18 February 2021
  • ISBN: 9781473588608
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: Audio Download
  • RRP: $29.99

The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

'The most uplifting book of the year' INDEPENDENT




An unforgettable, life-enhancing debut novel for fans of HAROLD FRY, ELEANOR OLIPHANT and THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP: 'Full of wisdom and kindness. Just the kind of book I adore' JOANNA CANNON

An extraordinary friendship. A lifetime of stories.
Their last one begins here.

'Full of wisdom and kindness. It is just the kind of book I adore' JOANNA CANNON

'Touching and honest and funny. I completely and wholeheartedly fell for Lenni and Margot' NINA POTTELL

Life is short - no one knows that better than seventeen year-old Lenni Petterssen. On the Terminal Ward, the nurses are offering their condolences already, but Lenni still has plenty of living to do.

When she meets 83-year-old Margot Macrae, a fellow patient offering new friendship and enviable artistic skills, Lenni's life begins to soar in ways she'd never imagined.

As their bond deepens, a world of stories opens up: of wartime love and loss, of misunderstanding and reconciliation, of courage, kindness and joy.

Stories that have led Lenni and Margot to the end of their days.

Fiercely alive, disarmingly funny, and brimming with tenderness, THE ONE HUNDRED YEARS OF LENNI AND MARGOT unwraps the extraordinary gift of life even when it is about to be taken away, and revels in our infinite capacity for friendship and love when we need it most.
---------------------------------------------

'Emotional, involving, witth and sad. All my favourite things. Everyone is going to love LENNI AND MARGOT' JILL MANSELL

  • Published: 18 February 2021
  • ISBN: 9781473588608
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: Audio Download
  • RRP: $29.99

About the author

Marianne Cronin

Marianne Cronin was born in 1990 and grew up in Warwickshire. She studied English and Creative Writing at Lancaster University, before going on to specialise in applied linguistics, earning her MA and PhD from the University of Birmingham. The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot is her debut novel

Praise for The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

A truly gorgeous book, brimming with life and colour

JOANNA GLEN

Sharp and funny, warm and wise, a remarkable friendship sparks two lifetimes of shared stories in one unforgettable book. I loved it.

JESS KIDD, Author of HIMSELF

A gorgeous, heartbreaking story readers won't soon forget

ELLE MAGAZINE

The most beautifully written love letter to friendship, managing to make you laugh and cry uncontrollably. It's quite simply brilliant

Woman and Home

Cronin's characters are fully drawn, and chime together to tell a sweet story about connection, loss and living

IRISH TIMES

A gorgeous, heartwarming novel. The perfect antidote to the world right now

FABULOUS MAGAZINE

Filled with kindness and quirky characters who restore your faith in life. This debut will stay with you, answering the question, What is life made of?

MY WEEKLY, BOOK OF THE WEEK

Full of honesty and warmth. A beautiful debut

CULTUREFLY

An extraordinary tale of living, love and heartbreak

The Sun

Charged with light and colour. Gloriously original and full of wisdom, humour, and hope. It made me think and care and laugh and cry. One of my all-time favourite books

HAZEL PRIOR, author of AWAY WITH THE PENGUINS

A beautiful, funny, and incredibly assured story filled with rich characters.

INDEPENDENT

Discover more

Article
The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot book club notes

A tale of extraordinary friendship and a lifetime of stories to share with your book club pals.

Related titles