> Skip to content
  • Published: 31 March 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448149100
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 368

The Modfather

My Life with Paul Weller




In the bestselling tradition of Where Did it All Go Right by Andrew Collins

When David Lines first heard This is the Modern World by The Jam, it sparked off a love affair that continues to this day. Paul Weller became the blueprint for David's life, and he followed his music and his style with the fervour of a truly devoted fan - to the bemusement of his long-suffering family. At once disarmingly candid and hilariously funny, this is the story of what it means to have a hero, its pleasures and pitfalls. Illustrating his memoir with landmark songs from The Jam and The Style Council, David maps out the occasionally bizarre events in the life of an obsessive fan and wannabe writer.

From Player's Navy Cut to Gitanes, boating blazers to cashmere sweaters, The Modfather is about acquiring style, finding substance and living life with Paul Weller.

  • Published: 31 March 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448149100
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 368

About the author

David Lines

David Lines was born in 1967 and moved to Leeds when he was eleven years old. He left school with two 'O' levels and has worked in bookselling and advertising. David lives in Easingwold, near York, with his wife and daughter. He is the author of The Modfather: My Life with Paul Weller and is working on another memoir, Nigella Lawson Saved My Life.

Also by David Lines

See all

Praise for The Modfather

A great concept and an interesting read ... and I'm flattered!

Paul Weller

This is a wonderful account of an adolescence and an obsession. It is extraordinarily frank, often painful, frequently very moving, and, above all, consistently hilarious.

David Nobbs

A charming book packed with musical nostalgia, embarrassing misadventure and formative drinking experiences. Fans of Andrew Collins and Nick Hornby will approve

Q

The Modfather fizzes with nail-biting obsession, heartbreak and ear ticklingly funny adolescent misunderstandings

MOJO

Related titles