> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 24 October 2013
  • ISBN: 9781409052197
  • Imprint: Preface Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 384
Categories:

The Medici Mirror




A supernatural love story, perfect for fans of Kate Mosse and Barbara Erskine.

‘I have heard, but not believed, the spirits of the dead may walk again…’

A hidden room

When architect Johnny Carter is asked to redesign a long-abandoned Victorian shoe factory, he discovers a hidden room deep in the basement. A dark, sinister room, which contains a sixteenth-century Venetian mirror.

A love in danger

Johnny has a new love, Ophelia, in his life. But as the pair’s relationship develops and they begin to explore the mystery surrounding the mirror, its malign influence threatens to envelop and destroy them.

A secret history

The mirror’s heritage dates back to the sixteenth century, and the figure of Catherine de Medici – betrayed wife, practitioner of the occult, and known as the Black Queen.

The Medici Mirror is a haunting story of jealousy, obsession, and murder, perfect for fans of Kate Mosse and Barbara Erskine; a story about the ability of the past to influence the present and of love’s power to defeat even the most powerful of curses.

  • Pub date: 24 October 2013
  • ISBN: 9781409052197
  • Imprint: Preface Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 384

About the Author

Melissa Bailey

Melissa Bailey read English at Oxford, before studying law in London and then pursuing a career in Media Law. The Medici Mirror is her first novel. She lives in London with her partner, a human rights lawyer.

Also by Melissa Bailey

See all

Praise for The Medici Mirror

“A wonderful piece of storytelling... with fantastic characters and a thrilling denouement. I highly recommend this to fans of the ghostly, the historical and the time-slip.”

Lisa Reads Books

“This is a brilliant novel and an impressive debut. I really look forward to reading Melissa Bailey's next book and would rate this as a five star read.”

Book Babblers

“This is a wonderful book that will haunt you long after you finish it.”

Brighton & Hove Independent

“Melissa Bailey is a wonderful talent... the words flow and the story is beautifully crafted... For a magnificent and atmospheric blend of old and new, past and present, along with the odd death thrown in for good measure, The Medici Mirror will not disappoint.”

Milo Rambles

“If you like spooky, sexy mysteries with a historical flavour then The Medici Mirror is for you. Melissa Bailey is undoubtedly a name we will all become familiar with.”

Byte the Book

“clever variation of a time-slip novel...recommended”

Historical Novel Society

“The Medici Mirror is a dark book that explores the themes of revenge, jealousy, betrayal, death, yearning, vulnerability and love. As a debut novel it’s a strong well-rounded book and if you’re a fan of ghost stories it’s well worth a read.”

Culturefly

“The Medici Mirror is a dark book that explores the themes of revenge, jealousy, betrayal, death, yearning, vulnerability and love. As a debut novel it’s a strong well-rounded book and if you’re a fan of ghost stories it’s well worth a read.”

Culturefly


Related titles