> Skip to content

'Enchantingly dotty' – Daily Mail 'Scilly stories from UK's quietest police force...' – Sun This is the silly, but true, life of a Scilly Sergeant. Fans of Bill Bryson, Clare Balding and The Shepherd's Life will love this book!

‘Policing is like this everywhere but not everywhere is Scilly’

Meet Sergeant Colin Taylor, he has been a valuable member of the police force for over 20 years, 5 of which have been spent policing the ‘quiet’ Isles of Scilly, a group of islands off the southwestern tip of the Cornish peninsula.

Colin has made it his purpose to keep the streets of Scilly free from drunk anchor thieves, Balance Board riders and other culprits, mostly drunken, intent on breaking the law. This book is the first hand account of how he did it.

Coupled with his increasingly popular ‘Isle of Scilly Police Force’ Facebook page, this book charts the day to day trials and tribulations of a small-island police officer, told in a perfectly humorous and affectionate way. This book is a fantastic read and Colin's antics are soon to be the feautre of a major ITV TV series.

Reviews

The best tourist guide to the Isles of Scilly one could wish for. Anyone reading this book is sure to want to go there and experience this delightfully eccentric corner of the British Isles.

Daily Express

Enchantingly dotty.

Daily Mail

Set to be [a] big hit.

Guardian

If you love the Isles of Scilly you will love this book.

A Dartmoor and Devon Blog

Told with humour and tenderness. A great read – No.1 in Books Top Ten

Western Morning News

Colin is a master of this art... The Life of a Scilly Sergeant is more Bill Bryson than Old Bill anecdotes or memoirs; it is a travelogue that embraces the history and culture of the islands and celebrates their beauty and their inhabitants... The Life of a Scilly Sergeant belongs in the travel section of all good book shops and I cannot recommend it highly enough

http://www.thisisscilly.com/the-life-of-a-scilly-sergeant

A fantastic read

Western Morning News

Scilly stories from UK's quietest police force... Amusing memoirs of policing the [Isles of Scilly's] rogues

The Sun

Laugh out loud … I found Colin’s description of Scilly to be wonderful.

Nudge

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9781784755157

    February 15, 2017

    Arrow

    304 pages

    RRP $19.99

    Online retailers

    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Dymocks
    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781473537149

    June 16, 2016

    Cornerstone Digital

    304 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle AU
    • iBooks
    • Google Play EBook AU
    • Kobo Ebook
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks