> Skip to content
  • Published: 7 May 2024
  • ISBN: 9781761340185
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $16.99

The Kindness Project




A heartwarming verse novel from beloved Australian children’s author Deborah Abela.

Ms Skye thinks kids can change the world
with a Kindness Project.
Nicolette wants to
but how can she
when Layla treats her like she’s invisible
and DJ picks on everything she says?
Leaf thinks Nicolette can be a
superhero.
So maybe
if they work together
they just might do it.

A heartwarming story about four kids who overcome their differences and take on the world.


‘An absolute gem of a book!’
Maryam Master, author of No Words
"The Kindness Project shows us the strength and transformative power of kindness. Told with tenderness and creative verse, this book will sweep you off your feet and live in your heart permanently." Zanni Louise, author of Queenie in Seven Moves

  • Published: 7 May 2024
  • ISBN: 9781761340185
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $16.99

About the author

Deborah Abela

After training as a teacher, Deb travelled to Africa, where she was trapped in a desert sandstorm, harassed by monkeys and thrown in jail twice. She trained as a teacher before becoming writer/producer of a national children’s TV show at Network TEN. She’s since written 30 internationally published and awarded books, including the Max Remy series, her climate change trilogy, Grimsdon, New City and Final Storm and The Stupendously Spectacular Spelling Bee. Her CBCA Notable, The Book of Wondrous Possibilities, is about the power of books to save us when we feel lost. Her latest books are, The Kindness Project, a verse novel about how even the smallest act of kindness can change the world and her picture book, No More Room in the Bed. www.deborahabela.com

Also by Deborah Abela

See all

Praise for The Kindness Project

The Kindness Project shows us the strength and transformative power of kindness. Told with tenderness and creative verse, this book will sweep you off your feet and live in your heart permanently.

Zanni Louise, author of QUEENIE IN SEVEN MOVES

An absolute gem of a book!

Maryam Master, author of NO WORDS

This inspiring book shows that kindness is the most important superpower of all.

Pip Harry, author of AUGUST & JONES

This magnificent middle grade novel captured me from the very first page . . . I cannot praise this highly enough. Your astute readers from around ten years old will find so much to love about this, and connect deeply with these characters, all of whom become dear to the reader.

Sue Warren, Teacher Librarian, Just So Stories

Deborah Abela writes with authenticity as big topics, such as mental health, are discussed with clarity and grace . . . For readers who loved Pip Harry’s The Little Wave, Abela’s The Kindness Project will also have you cheering for the underdogs and delighting in their achievements, big and small.

Katie Haydon, Books+Publishing

Well-known children’s author Deborah Abela has written a brilliant debut verse novel. The Kindness Project shares the stories of four very different children all dealing with complex family situations and deep feelings. Throughout the novel, the reader is drawn into the emotions and experiences of the children by the rich language used and the clever positional text techniques employed to emphasise key moments.

Kathryn Beilby, ReadPlus

A heartwarming story ideal for the age group that could easily keep them reading and learning what a difference it makes to what you can achieve when you work together.

Schooldays Magazine

A beautiful story of friendship, change and kindness.

Stirling, age 12

You're never alone when you read this book

Eloise, age 12

5 out of 5 stars. I love this book.

Harry, age 12

The choice of language is sublime and with clever use of fonts and formatting that enhances the reader’s understanding of Nicolette’s emotions, this is one that moved me to tears.

Barbara Braxton, The Bottom Shelf

Discover more

Article
Penguin Random House children’s authors at Sydney Writers’ Festival 2024

Learn more about the children’s authors who were part of the 2024 Sydney Writers' Festival and check out their books.