> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 23 April 2015
  • ISBN: 9781473520141
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 304

The Gracekeepers


Formats & editions


The magical story of a floating circus and two young women in search of a home.

A flooded world.
A floating circus.
Two women in search of a home.

North lives on a circus boat with her beloved bear, keeping a secret that could capsize her life.

Callanish lives alone in her house in the middle of the ocean, tending the graves of those who die at sea. As penance for a terrible mistake, she has become a gracekeeper.

A chance meeting between the two draws them magnetically to one another - and to the promise of a new life.

But the waters are treacherous, and the tide is against them.

'The Gracekeepers is enchanting and heart-tugging. If you love Margaret Atwood you’ll love this' Sunday Telegraph

'A wondrous read' Stylist

'Clever and original' The Times
'Truly magical' Heat

  • Pub date: 23 April 2015
  • ISBN: 9781473520141
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 304

About the Author

Kirsty Logan

Kirsty Logan is the author of the novel The Gracekeepers,the short story collections A Portable Shelter and The Rental Heart& Other Fairytales, the flash fiction chapbook The Psychology ofAnimals Swallowed Alive, and the short memoir The Old Asylum in theWoods at the Edge of the Town Where I Grew Up. Her books have won the Lambda Literary Award, the Polari First Book Prize, the Saboteur Award, the Scott Prize and the Gavin Wallace Fellowship, and been selected for the Radio 2 Book Club and the Waterstones Book Club. Her short fiction and poetry has been translated into Japanese and Spanish, recorded for radio and podcasts, exhibited in galleries and distributed from a vintage Wurlitzer cigarette machine. She lives in Glasgow with her wife.

Also by Kirsty Logan

See all

Praise for The Gracekeepers

“The Gracekeepers is enchanting and heart-tugging. If you love Margaret Atwood you’ll love this”

Sunday Telegraph

“A wondrous read”

Stylist

“A wondrous read”

Stylist

“Clever and original”

Kate Saunders, The Times

“Truly magical”

Heat

“A bold, fresh new talent… a wild, original imagination”

Independent on Sunday

“A gorgeously melancholy novel, a post-apocalyptic fairy tale of mermen and mourning birds, ghost cities on the ocean floor, and precious soil. I envy the reader who is just now picking it up.”

Herald

“Highly original ... set in a haunting sea-world both familiar and mysterious”

Ursula K. Le Guin

“Rich and strange... memorable and beautiful”

Daily Mail

“Everything about this book is beautiful: the language is a poetic and diaphanous as nature and the many characters who contribute to the story are utterly authentic in this magic realist world. Every one of them stays with you, leaving you craving more about their back stories and their fates… This is a delicious piece of work from a supremely talented young writer”

Scotsman

“A delightful fantasy in the mould of The Night Circus”

Red

“[A] remarkable story about love, family, roots and obligations... A colourful magic realist novel about finding your place”

Diva

“Lyrical and moving”

ELLE

“There's a dreamy coolness to this magical debut”

Psychologies

“An enchanting, magical tale, and Kirsty Logan’s writing is beautiful. Compelling and vivid, with Scottish lore woven lyrically throughout, The Gracekeepers explores such issues as loneliness and isolation, our innate tendencies to create divisions between ourselves and others, the consequences of long-ago actions, and, ultimately, the restoration of hope.”

Sara Gruen

“[Logan] has picked up [Angela] Carter’s mantle and has written, in her own alluring voice, a fairy tale which glitters like sun on the sea where it is set, weaving a story in which all readers can, if they allow themselves to see it, discover something of their own desires and dreams...one to relish and re-read with great excitement”

Welsh Arts Review

“Beautiful and bewitching: read it and be swept away on a magical wave of love and language”

Bookseller

“The Gracekeepers is a seemingly impossible combination of the lyrical and the gritty, the magical and the brutal. In haunting prose Kirsty Logan has woven a compelling, emotionally dense fairytale that kept me enthralled ‘til the last page”

Tamar Cohen

“A bewitching tale”

Big Issue

“This modern fairytale has moments of exceptional insight and thrilling action”

Theresa Munoz, Herald

“A book worthy to find its way into your suitcase for that early summer break… Will delight fans of The Night Circus and The Snow Child and is one of the most exciting and enchanting debut novels of 2015”

What’s On in Swansea

“A mystical and beautiful tale”

Sun

“Kirsty Logan is definitely one to watch”

Emma Walton (Waterstones, Argyle Street), Sunday Mail

“This is a novel of the liminal and the liquid, seeking new ways of living together and new forms of life in a world that humans have transformed almost beyond the possibility of our own survival”

Sarah Ditum, Guardian

“The Gracekeepers has, undoubtedly, exceeded even the highest of expectations. It’s a book to devote a day to, uninterrupted – or you’ll curse the cruelty of the call to work… Most debut novelists can only hope to create a story. Gently, deftly, Logan has created a whole world”

Skinny

“Logan builds an enchanting cocoon over time, one which I was reluctant to leave… A touching and lovely modern love story about an alternative family”

Jane Graham, Big Issue

“Logan’s prose is dreamlike and strange, but she has a firm grasp of the realities of rivalry and love”

Eithne Farry, Sunday Express

“Fans of S.M. Wheeler’s Sea Change and Emmi Itaranta’s Memory of Water will appreciate this latest genre-bending work”

Washington Post

“A strong first novel for Logan”

John Grey, Gladstone Observer

“It’s a softly magical tale, gentler than most contemporary dystopias, but no less compelling”

Lucy Scholes, Independent

“This is a seriously good book. You don’t just believe it, you breathe it”

Benjamin Judge, Book Munch

“Lyrical [and] poetic”

Ian Hunter, Interzone

“A beautiful dreamy book… Engaging and strange and lovely.”

Elaine Gallagher, Interzone

“The world Logan creates is fascinating…The Gracekeepers is told in beautifully written language… It is a vivid, evocative and imaginative glimpse into a potential future.”

Ian Simpson, Nudge


Related titles