> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 December 2020
  • ISBN: 9780525645740
  • Imprint: RHUS Children's Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 320
  • RRP: $13.99

The Ghost in Apartment 2R




What if there was a ghost in your brother's room?

This kid-friendly mystery about three friends who try to help a restless spirit find peace is perfect for fans of Under the Egg and The Book Scavenger.

It stinks that Danny's older brother moved out and went to college. But you know what's worse? He left behind an angry ghost in his room!

With the help of his friends Nat and Gus, Danny interviews everyone his Brooklyn neighborhood to find out about spirits. Is it an Arabian ghoul? A Korean gwishin? A Polish haunting? Maybe the answer lies with Danny's own bubbe and her tales of a dybbuk, a Jewish mythological ghost. Regardless of its origins, what does the spirit truly want? And can Danny manage to bring the phantom to rest?

"Gently scary with plenty of fun . . . absolutely delightful." --Kirkus Reviews

"As addictive as your favorite video game. I couldn't put it down." --ADAM GIDWITZ, New York Times bestselling author of A Tale Dark and Grimm on Click Here to Start

"This is one adventure no gamer should miss!" --GORDON KORMAN, New York Times bestselling author of Restart on Game Masters of Garden Place

  • Published: 15 December 2020
  • ISBN: 9780525645740
  • Imprint: RHUS Children's Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 320
  • RRP: $13.99

Also by Denis Markell

See all

Praise for The Ghost in Apartment 2R

"[An] affectionate tribute to a richly diverse, close-knit Brooklyn neighborhood and its multigenerational residents.” —Publishers WeeklyA layered chiller that is also a valentine to the story’s setting." —Booklist "A diverse, interesting cast . . . hair-raising ghost stories . . . to appeal to fans of comic spookiness." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books PRAISE FOR CLICK HERE TO START A School Library Guild selection  An Amazon Best Books of the Month Selection "In this clever debut, Markell takes readers on a clue-filled adventure...[and] maintains an energetic, entertaining balance of character-driven narrative and tricky challenges." —Publishers Weekly "Highly entertaining...a well-paced read with fully realized and likable characters...[and] should have strong appeal to gamers, fans of video game-based stories, and reluctant readers." —SLJ "This book will appeal to a wide audience. Readers who enjoyed Schreiber's Game Over, Pete Watson will enjoy the video game component; fans of Fitzgerald's Under the Egg will enjoy reading more about the Monuments Men; detective story aficionados will revel in the inclusion of The Maltese Falcon story. This is a great book to hand to just about any middle grade reader." —YA Books Central  PRAISE FOR THE GAME MASTERS OF GARDEN PLACE "So inventive, and so much fun!" —Wendy Mass, NYT bestselling author of the Candymakers series "A love letter to a legendary game." —Michael Northrop, NYT bestselling author of TombQuest "An epic adventure...for young fans of Stranger Things." —SLJ "An exciting new adventure exploring friendship...[with] often humorous commentary on social issues. —Booklist "Both funny and heartfelt...[it's] a story that has as much to offer diehard fans as it does newcomers to fantasy role-playing." —The Bulletin

Related titles