> Skip to content
  • Published: 16 April 2020
  • ISBN: 9781473570696
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 384
Categories:

The Cotton Spinner




A Victorian saga set in Lancashire during industrialisation about a family coming to terms with the rise of the mills. Perfect for fans of Val Wood and Catherine Cookson.

The rise of the mills is about to change everything. _________________________'Brimming with drama, heartbreak, love, friendship and the powerful bonds of family' Lancashire Post_________________________Lancashire, 1826When Jennet and Titus Eastwood are forced to move from their idyllic cottage into the centre of Blackburn to find work in the cotton mills, their lives are changed in ways they could never have imagined and their new home on Paradise Lane is anything but . . .Then Titus is arrested and sent to prison for attending a Reform meeting. Jennet is left to fend for herself and things go from bad to worse as she finds herself pregnant and alone - with another man's child . . ._________________________'An engrossing tale of hardship, struggles, love and family. I was swept away to the North of England and into the world of cotton spinners. Well researched, perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson.' Kitty Neale'With vividly drawn characters and Libby's passion for Lancashire and its history shining through, this gritty and heartfelt tale of the mill workers and those caught up in the Reform riots is a must-read.' Evie Grace

  • Published: 16 April 2020
  • ISBN: 9781473570696
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 384
Categories:

About the author

Libby Ashworth

Libby Ashworth was born and raised in Lancashire, where she can trace her family back to the Middle Ages. It was while researching her family history that she realised there were so many stories about ordinary working people that she wanted to tell. She has previously written historical novels - The de Lacy Inheritance and By Loyalty Bound – as well as local history books. The Cotton Spinner is her first saga novel.

Libby currently lives in Lancashire with her son.

Also by Libby Ashworth

See all

Praise for The Cotton Spinner

An engrossing tale of hardship, struggles, love and family. I was swept away to the North of England and into the world of cotton spinners. Well researched, perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson

Kitty Neale

With vividly drawn characters and Libby’s passion for Lancashire and its history shining through, this gritty and heartfelt tale of the mill workers and those caught up in the Reform riots is a must-read. I loved it

Evie Grace

Brimming with drama, heartbreak, love, friendship and the powerful bonds of family

Lancashire Post

[A] well-written novel […] It’s a well-researched story any fan of historical fiction would enjoy

This Is Lit (blog)

Related titles