> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 23 April 2015
  • ISBN: 9781473525818
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 336

The Confectioner's Tale




A decadent story of love and scandal that sweeps you away to Paris

At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner’s daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air.

But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.

Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words ‘Forgive me’. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

'Delightful and delicious: a must read' Nina George, bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop
'Mouth-watering and mysterious . . . a compelling read' Leah Fleming, bestselling author of The Girl under the Olive Tree
Take a moment to savour a bittersweet love story that echoes through the decades – perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop.

  • Pub date: 23 April 2015
  • ISBN: 9781473525818
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 336

About the Author

Laura Madeleine

After a childhood spent acting professionally and training at a theatre school, Laura Madeleine changed her mind, and went to study English Literature at Newnham College, Cambridge. She now writes fiction, as well as recipes, and was formerly the resident cake baker for Domestic Sluttery. She lives in Bristol, but can often be found visiting her family in Devon, eating cheese and getting up to mischief with her sister, fantasy author Lucy Hounsom.

Also by Laura Madeleine

See all

Praise for The Confectioner's Tale

“Delightful and delicious: a must read”

Nina George, bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

“Mouth-watering and mysterious . . . a compelling read”

Leah Fleming, bestselling author of The Postcard

“Sizzling forbidden love story set in 1900s Paris . . . four stars”

Heat

“A heady mix of passion and betrayal set against the stunning backdrops of 1909 Paris and 1980s Cambridge.”

The Lady


Related titles