> Skip to content
Play sample
  • Published: 25 April 2013
  • ISBN: 9781448179596
  • Imprint: RH AudioGo
  • Format: Audio Download
  • Length: 12 hr 14 min
  • RRP: $24.00
Categories:

The City

A spellbinding and captivating epic fantasy that will keep you on the edge of your seat




One of the legendary names in genre fiction returns - an astonishing debut fantasy novel from Stella Gemmell, wife of the late, great and bestselling David Gemmell...

Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones, Joe Abercrombie and Robin Hobb, a stunningly imagined and thrilling epic fantasy from bestselling author Stella Gemmell.
"One of the best fantasy novels I've read in a long time - and I read a lot...utterly compelling...an awesome example of the genre." -- sf book reviews
"An astonishing book... Easily the best fantasy novel I've read in the last decade." - James Barclay
"Vast, immersive and accomplished." -- INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY
"Well-defined, superbly executed...I found myself absolutely hooked." -- Eloquentpage
"Grips you from the first page..." -- ***** Reader review
"This ticked all the boxes for me." -- ***** Reader review
"It was such a great read, she has very much her own style of writing and I loved it. " -- ***** Reader review.

************************************

THEIR HOPES REST ON ONE MAN...BELIEVED TO BE DEAD.

The City, ancient and vast, has been waging almost constant war for centuries.

At its heart resides the Emperor. Few have ever seen him. Those who have remember a man in his prime - who yet should be very old. Is he no longer human? Indeed was he truly ever?

A group of rebels have come to a desperate conclusion: the only way to halt the Emperor's thirst for war is to end his unnaturally long life.

From the crumbling catacombs beneath the City where the poor struggle to stay alive to the blood-soaked fields of battle where so few heroes survive, these rebels emerge.

Their hopes rest on one man. A man who was once the Emperor's foremost general - betrayed, imprisoned, tortured and now believed to be dead...

The story continues in The Immortal Throne...

  • Published: 25 April 2013
  • ISBN: 9781448179596
  • Imprint: RH AudioGo
  • Format: Audio Download
  • Length: 12 hr 14 min
  • RRP: $24.00
Categories:

About the author

Stella Gemmell

Stella Gemmell has a degree in politics and is a journalist. She was married to the internationally acclaimed and bestselling fantasy novelist David Gemmell and worked with him on his three Troy novels, completing the final book, Troy: Fall of Kings, following his death in 2006. She lives in East Sussex. The City is her first solo novel.

Also by Stella Gemmell

See all

Praise for The City

The most satisfying, intelligent and enthralling epic fantasy I’ve read in many a year.

JULIET McKENNA

An astonishing book . . . combines extraordinary scope with first class characterization, devastating and visceral battles, a multi-layered plot and a tightly-focused narrative . . . The City is easily the best fantasy novel I’ve read in the last decade.

JAMES BARCLAY

One of the best fantasy novels I've read in a long time . . . utterly compelling fiction, an awesome example of the genre . . . brilliant.

SF BOOK REVIEWS

Vast, immersive and accomplished.

Independent on Sunday

A brutally visual world . . . vivid, motivated characters each with a heartbreaking history . . . thrilling and devastating . . . a true epic.

SCIFI NOW

Gemmell's volcanic imagination . . . erupts into pyrotechnics of description and unstoppable lava flows of intrigue, sweeping us along to the white-hot conclusion.

Tom Holt, SFX magazine

A plethora of well-defined, superbly-executed characters . . . I found myself absolutely hooked . . . there is an ever-growing sense of tension. Even before the final, inevitable, showdown you get the feeling that things are going to get bloody and not everyone is going to make it out of this alive . . .this is engrossing stuff that's expertly executed.

ELOQUENT PAGE

Demands your complete and total attention . . . pulls together at the end in a gripping climax and wonderful multi dimensional characters . . . a new and very powerful voice in the world of fantasy. Highly Recommended.

PARMENION BOOKS

A sweeping novel of great power.

TOR.COM

Related titles