> Skip to content

From the author of CBCA-shortlisted Yellow comes a powerful exploration of family and identity set against the humid build-up to the wet season in Darwin.

He’s back.
The monster.
It’s the middle of the night and I’m awake, because even though I’m seventeen I still haven’t outgrown the childhood monster that haunts you in the dark. I haven’t outgrown it, because when I was a child, the monster was real.
He was my father.
But the thing is, the monster was the person I was closest to in the whole world, closer than I’ve been to anyone since.
That will tell you everything you need to know about me.
And still, I wouldn’t hesitate to kill the monster.
That will tell you even more about me.
Seventeen-year-old Iliad Piper is named after war and angry at the world. Growing up with a violent father and abused mother, she doesn’t know how to do relationships, family or friends. A love-hate friendship with Max turns into a prank war, and she nearly destroys her first true friendship with misfit Mia. Ily takes off her armour for nobody, until she meets Jared, someone who's as complicated as she is.

Reviews

Ily Piper is fierce and vulnerable and so authentic. I loved her.

Melina Marchetta, Melina Marchetta

Set in the sultry, scorching climate of Darwin, this is a beautifully written, compelling story that pulls you along with its strength of character. Megan Jacobson was shortlisted for a CBCA with her first novel, Yellow. This novel is another powerful story that shows the complicated feelings and behaviours that reverberate from domestic violence. Jacobson is definitely an author to watch. Fans of Vikki Wakefield and Claire Zorn will love this novel.

Angela Crocombe, Angela Crocombe, Readings

Megan Jacobson’s The Build-Up Season is a confronting but compelling exploration of domestic violence and the legacies of abuse . . . The story follows rebel teen Iliad during her final year in high school, charting a path through a new relationship that turns violent, and the breaking and rebuilding of family ties . . . It’s perfect for fans of Looking for Alibrandi, and suitable for mature readers aged 15 and up.

Books + Publishing

A confronting but compelling exploration of domestic violence and the legacies of abuse set against the gathering storm clouds of Darwin’s build-up season. Definitely one of the best Australian YA releases of 2017.

http://babblingbooks.com.au/the-build-up-season-review/

In her first novel, Megan Jacobson reveals herself to be a masterful storyteller . . . This is young-adult fiction at its best.

Nick Earls (praise for Yellow)

This story has such a generous heart. I loved it. Utterly unique and beautifully written . . .

Kirsty Eagar (praise for Yellow)

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780143573388

    July 31, 2017

    Penguin (AU YR)

    272 pages

    RRP $19.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781760141455

    July 31, 2017

    Penguin eBooks (AU YR)

    256 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Megan Jacobson

Yellow

Recommendations

Yellow
The Fault In Our Stars
Frankie
The Sidekicks
Artemis Fowl
The Beast of Hushing Wood
Thirteen Reasons Why
Double Down: Diary of a Wimpy Kid (BK11)
Matilda
The Ugly Truth
Holding Up The Universe
Percy Jackson And The Lightning Thief
Girl Online
Charlie And The Chocolate Factory: A Play
The Upside Of Unrequited
One Photo
Girl Online
A Fortunate Life
Mr Romanov's Garden in the Sky
Soon