> Skip to content
  • Published: 19 March 2020
  • ISBN: 9781473569591
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 384

The Book Of Echoes

An astonishing debut. 'Impassioned. Lyrical and affecting' GUARDIAN




'A new classic' SARA COLLINS: Unique, multi-layered epic story of how centuries of generational trauma may be healed through love, hope and unity. Told with uplifting warmth and compassion, for fans of Toni Morrison, Alice Walker and Isabel Allende.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE AUTHOR'S CLUB FIRST NOVEL AWARD, THE RSL CHRISTOPHER BLAND PRIZE and THE HWA DEBUT CROWN AWARD

'A new classic' SARA COLLINS, author of THE CONFESSIONS OF FRANNIE LANGTON
'Impassioned. Lyrical and affecting' GUARDIAN_____________

Brixton 1981. Sixteen-year-old Michael is already on the wrong side of the law. In in his community, where job opportunities are low and drug-running is high, this is nothing new.

But when Michael falls for Ngozi, a vibrant young immigrant from the Nigerian village of Obowi, their startling connection runs far deeper than they realise.

Narrated by the spirit of an African woman who lost her life on a slave ship two centuries earlier, her powerful story reveals how Michael and Ngozi's struggle for happiness began many lifetimes ago.

Through haunting, lyrical words, one unforgettable message resonates: love, hope and unity will heal us all.
_____________

'A searing, rhapsodic novel. Filled with beauty, devastation and the power of ancestral connections that ripple through the ages' IRENOSEN OKOJIE, author of NUDIBRANCH

'A gorgeous book' ALEX WHEATLE, author of BRIXTON ROCK
_____________
Readers love THE BOOK OF ECHOES:

'A powerful and honest debut which is going to stay with me for a long time' *****

'You can feel Amaka's passion rising off the page' *****

'BRILLIANT, thoughtful and masterfully crafted' *****

'Oh my goodness, the book itself is even more beautiful and haunting than the cover' *****

  • Published: 19 March 2020
  • ISBN: 9781473569591
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 384

About the author

Rosanna Amaka

ROSANNA AMAKA was born to African and Caribbean parents. She began writing THE BOOK OF ECHOES twenty years ago to give voice to the Brixton community in which she grew up. Her community was fast disappearing – as a result of gentrification, emigration back to the Caribbean and Africa, or simply with the passing away of the older generation. Its depiction of unimaginable pain redeemed by love and hope was also inspired by a wish to understand the impact of history on present-day lives. Rosanna Amaka lives in South London. This is her first novel.

Praise for The Book Of Echoes

An absorbing debut

SUNDAY EXPRESS

Impassioned. Lyrical and affecting

GUARDIAN

Powerfully redemptive

INDEPENDENT

Fierce and poignant

TATLER

BEST BOOKS for FEBRUARY

COSMOPOLITAN MAGAZINE

Powerful, impassioned, thought-provoking

DAILY MAIL Staycation Sensations

A beautiful rich story that shows how hope can get people through the worst of times

PRIDE MAGAZINE

A breath-taking read. Both intimate and sweeping

LOUISE HARE, author of THIS LOVELY CITY

Bewitching. I almost felt i'd time-travelled back to Brixton in the 1980s. Highly recommended

ALEX WHEATLE, author of BRIXTON ROCK

Related titles