> Skip to content
  • Published: 4 January 2016
  • ISBN: 9780099575863
  • Imprint: Vintage
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $22.99

Talking to Terrorists

How to End Armed Conflicts




An inside look at the subterranean exchanges that occur between governments and terrorist organisations.

Across the world governments proclaim that they will never ‘negotiate with evil’. And yet they always have and always will.

From jungle clearings to stately homes and anonymous airport hotels, Talking to Terrorists puts us in the room with the terrorists, secret agents and go-betweens who seek to change the course of history.

Jonathan Powell has spent nearly two decades mediating between governments and terrorist organisations. Drawing on conflicts from Colombia and Sri Lanka to Palestine and South Africa, this optimistic, wide-ranging, authoritative book is about how and why we should talk to terrorists.

‘Essential reading’ Independent‘Fascinating’ Sunday TimesNow includes a new Afterword - Talking to ISIL*Perfect for fans of The Looming Tower*

  • Published: 4 January 2016
  • ISBN: 9780099575863
  • Imprint: Vintage
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $22.99

About the author

Jonathan Powell

After studying history at Oxford and the University of Pennsylvania, Jonathan Powell worked for the BBC and Granada TV before joining the Foreign Office in 1979. In 1994 Mr Blair, then Leader of the Opposition, poached him to join his `kitchen cabinet' as his Chief of Staff. When Labour achieved its landslide victory in 1997 Powell was at the heart of the Downing Street machine. He was the only senior member of staff to remain at Blair's side throughout his time at the top of British politics. He has always maintained a low profile and has never before told his story.

Also by Jonathan Powell

See all

Praise for Talking to Terrorists

Essential reading for all parties in conflict

Patrick Cockburn, Independent

Fascinating

Michael Ignatieff, Sunday Times

This is an inspiring book. You’ll enter the New Year shaking hands with all.

Kirsty Brimelow, The Times

This is an unusual, indeed a unique, book

Oliver Miles, Guardian

The book is an enthralling case study of the art, in which Powell carefully establishes his argument for why dialogue with terror groups is usually necessary

Anthony Loyd, New Statesman

It is a witty, light-footed, anecdote-rich history of the recent art of talking to terrorists

Justin Webb, The Times

Thoughtful, well-structured, intelligent and well-informed

Conor Gearty, Irish Times

Intelligent and insightful book on conflict resolution

Andrew Lynch, Sunday Business Post

[An] absorbing and authoritative study

Michael Ignatieff, Sunday Times

Related titles