> Skip to content
  • Published: 17 September 2018
  • ISBN: 9780735229396
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 160
  • RRP: $13.99

Tale Of A Scaredy-Dog



Bea Garcia loves art, especially when she gets to draw pictures of her dog, Sophie. Their friendship is the star of this third story in the spunky chapter book series for fans of Amelia's Notebook, Judy Moody, and Dory Fantasmagory series.

Bea Garcia is an artist and her favorite subject is Sophie, the smartest dog in the world. This spunky chapter book series is perfect for fans of Amelia's Notebook, Judy Moody, and Dory Fantasmagory series.

Sophie is also Bea Garcia’s best friend ever. They both love peanut butter cookies and hanging out in the crabapple tree in the backyard. They also like to snuggle together and dream of all sorts of adventures. Bea and Sophie also share a strong dislike for Bert, the monster next door.

When Bea's teacher makes her visit Bert for a school assignment, Bea brings Sophie along for extra security and comfort. But even monsters have pets, and Bert has a terrible one: Big Kitty. When Big Kitty attacks, Sophie jumps out a window and sprints away—far from Bea! Bea goes on a frantic search for her best friend but Sophie is nowhere to be found. Will Bea's best friend ever come home again?

  • Published: 17 September 2018
  • ISBN: 9780735229396
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 160
  • RRP: $13.99

About the author

Deborah Zemke

Deborah Zemke has illustrated more than 30 books for children and adults and contributes "Critter Crackups" to Ranger Rick magazine, a publication of the National Wildlife Federation. She is also the designer of two illustration fonts for the International Typeface Corporation. Deborah lives and works in Missouri.

Also by Deborah Zemke

See all

Related titles