> Skip to content
  • Published: 17 September 2018
  • ISBN: 9780735229396
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 144
  • RRP: $13.99

Tale Of A Scaredy-Dog




Bea Garcia loves art, especially when she gets to draw pictures of her dog, Sophie. Their friendship is the star of this third story in the spunky chapter book series for fans of Amelia's Notebook, Judy Moody, and Dory Fantasmagory series.

Bea Garcia is using her art skills to tell readers all about her best friend ever-her dog, Sophie. Sophie can protect her from anything, even the Garcias' monster neighbor, Bert. When Bea's teacher makes her visit Bert for a school assignment, Bea brings Sophie along for extra security. But even monsters have pets, and Bert has a terrible one: Big Kitty. When Big Kitty attacks, Sophie runs straight out the door-away from Bea! Bea searches the neighborhood with her mom, and calls for Sophie up and down the street with her dad, but her dog is nowhere to be found. Will Bea's best friend ever come home again?

  • Published: 17 September 2018
  • ISBN: 9780735229396
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 144
  • RRP: $13.99

About the author

Deborah Zemke

Deborah Zemke has illustrated more than 30 books for children and adults and contributes "Critter Crackups" to Ranger Rick magazine, a publication of the National Wildlife Federation. She is also the designer of two illustration fonts for the International Typeface Corporation. Deborah lives and works in Missouri.

Also by Deborah Zemke

See all

Praise for Tale Of A Scaredy-Dog

Bea Garcia is an honest and funny protagonist with whom readers will identify and want to check back with regularly

School Library Journal, starred review

There isn't anything real or imaginary that the endearing Bea cannot draw . . . Readers will find inspiration to write, draw, explore, and imagine

Kirkus Reviews

[Zemke] clearly shows how art, self-expression, and humor can be solid allies when life doesn’t go as planned

Publishers Weekly

The everyday ups and downs of Bea’s life will be familiar to readers, who are sure to appreciate Bea’s perky humor

Booklist

Zemke has a gift for portraying the trials and tribulations of elementary school . . . A promising launch to this new series. Pass this one to aspiring artists, those missing a friend, or anyone who could use a laugh as she navigates childhood

BCCB

Related titles