> Skip to content
  • Published: 5 October 2022
  • ISBN: 9780241448243
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 256
  • RRP: $19.99

Soul of the Deep



The second book in the epic and magical re-imagining of one of history's darkest stories, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone.

Gather round sisters.

Hear my story of mami wata and gods.

Of the moment when mermaids and humans met.

Of Simi, who defies the gods and fights against history.

Of Kola, who evades his destiny and fights against those who enslaved him.

Of incredible love and the battle against immense hate.

This is is story that will change the course of history...

The second magical instalment in the epic re-imagining of one of the darkest stories in history told through the eyes of a bold and unforgettable heroine. Infused with West African mythology, this powerful love story is perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone.

  • Published: 5 October 2022
  • ISBN: 9780241448243
  • Imprint: Penguin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 256
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

Natasha Bowen

Natasha Bowen is a writer, a teacher, and a mother of three children. She is of Nigerian and Welsh descent and lives in Cambridge, England, where she grew up. Natasha studied English and creative writing at Bath Spa University before moving to East London, where she taught for nearly ten years. Her debut book was inspired by her passion for mermaids and African history. She is obsessed with Japanese and German stationery and spends stupid amounts on notebooks, which she then features on her secret Instagram. When she's not writing, she's reading, watched over carefully by Milk and Honey, her cat and dog.

Also by Natasha Bowen

See all

Related titles