> Skip to content

Second Inspector Leo Woods thriller, from the author of the acclaimed Crocodile Tears.

Gangland boss Harry Larkin has taken three bullets and lies dying in a Dublin hospital. Amongst his delusional ravings to Senior Ward Nurse Eveleen Morgan, one name stands out: Detective Inspector Leo Woods. Harry’s message for his old ‘friend’ Leo: find my daughter Whitney.
Leo is drawn into the murky world of the Larkin family, a hell he thought he had escaped from thirty years earlier. With the help of Detective Sergeant Helen Troy, his search for Whitney turns up more questions than answers, more darkness than light. Who shot Harry Larkin? What secrets are the Larkins hiding? Is there a connection with the young hit-and-run victim lying beside Harry in the intensive care unit? Why is a Libyan intern at the hospital taking such an interest? And is Leo himself compromised by his past affair with Harry’s wife, Liz?
While Woods and Troy struggle with the truth about a family built on deception, the search for Whitney becomes increasingly desperate. Leo is looking to the future, and a tentative relationship with Eveleen – but the past won’t let him go that easily.


Mark O'Sullivan has upped the ante . . . has to be a contender for Irish crime novel of the year.

Ken Bruen

One of the brightest new voices in Ireland's burgeoning crime-writing scene. His plots are pleasingly yet believably complex, his characters well observed with authentic back stories, and his storytelling is laced with mordant wit and sparkling dialogue. Highly recommended.

Irish Independent

Read More

Formats & editions

  • EBook


    April 24, 2014

    Transworld Digital

    432 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle AU
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play EBook AU
    • Kobo

Also by Mark O'Sullivan