> Skip to content
Play sample
  • Published: 11 June 2024
  • ISBN: 9780857529930
  • Imprint: Doubleday
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 240
  • RRP: $34.99

Sandwich




One week in Cape Cod. The perfect family holiday. What could possibly go wrong...? From the author of We All Want Impossible Things, a raucously funny novel with an unexpected punch about being 'sandwiched' between growing children and ageing parents and the power of change.

Discover the joyful summer read from the bestselling author of WE ALL WANT IMPOSSIBLE THINGS, perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Nora Ephron

'Sandwich is joy in book form. I laughed continuously, except for the parts that made me cry. Catherine Newman does a miraculous job reminding us of all the wonder there is to be found in life.' ANN PATCHETT, New York Times bestselling author of Tom Lake

'If you are after a book to pack on your next holiday, look no further. Here is a novel which will go down as easily as a chilled poolside drink' i Newspaper

'A piece of perfection… Family, love, secrets, a marriage that is ordinary, imperfect, sexy and beautiful… I laughed, I cried and I laughed some more.' RACHEL JOYCE, author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

'I adored this novel and am forcing it on everyone I know' JENNY COLGAN, author of The Summer Skies

____________

One week in Cape Cod. The perfect family holiday. What could possibly go wrong...?

For the past two decades, Rocky has looked forward to her family’s yearly escape to Cape Cod. Their rustic beach-town rental has been the site of sweet memories, its quirky furniture and mismatched pots and pans greeted like old friends.

Now, sandwiched between her children who are adult enough to be fun but still young enough to need her, and her parents who are alive and healthy, Rocky wants to preserve this golden moment forever. This one precious week when everything is in balance; everything is in flux.

But every family has its secrets and hers is no exception.

With her body in open revolt and surprises invading her peaceful haven, the perfectly balanced seesaw of Rocky’s life is tipping towards change…

____________

Praise for Catherine Newman’s WE ALL WANT IMPOSSIBLE THINGS:

‘Nora-Ephron-style wit … one of my favourite books ever’ MARIAN KEYES

‘One of the best novels on friendship I've ever read’ AJ PEARCE

‘Newman writes loss and laughter in equally brilliant amounts.’ BONNIE GARMUS

‘An absolute masterpiece in characterisation…utterly beautiful’ JOANNA CANNON

‘Quite simply glorious’ SARAH TURNER

‘An unbelievably brilliant and funny book about friendship, family, food, sex, and death.’ KATHERINE HEINY

‘This is a proper laugh-out-loud tale of friendship that will utterly win your heart’ STYLIST

'A beautiful, uplifting testament to female friendship that will make you laugh and cry.’ WOMAN

‘Remarkable ....whip-smart, funny, beautifully observed.’ OBSERVER


We All Want Impossible Things, RIchard and Judy Book Club Pick, Autumn 2023

  • Published: 11 June 2024
  • ISBN: 9780857529930
  • Imprint: Doubleday
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 240
  • RRP: $34.99

About the author

CATHERINE NEWMAN

Catherine Newman is an award-winning writer and columnist. She is the author of the memoirs Catastrophic Happiness and Waiting for Birdy, and the children's books One Mixed-Up Night, Stitch Camp, How to Be a Person and What Can I Say?. She edits the non-profit kids' cooking magazine ChopChop, writes the etiquette column for Real Simple magazine, and is a regular contributor to the New York Times, The Washington Post, O The Oprah Magazine, The Boston Globe, and many other publications. We All Want Impossible Things is her debut novel for adults. She lives in Amherst, Massachusetts, with her family.

Also by CATHERINE NEWMAN

See all

Praise for Sandwich

Sandwich is joy in book form. I laughed continuously, except for the parts that made me cry. Catherine Newman does a miraculous job reminding us of all the wonder there is to be found in life.

Ann Patchett, New York Times bestselling author of Tom Lake

A piece of perfection… Family, love, secrets, a marriage that is ordinary, imperfect, sexy and beautiful… I laughed, I cried and I laughed some more… a wonderful book about how families love, disagree, fail one another - and endure.

Rachel Joyce, author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

Catherine Newman is basically a national treasure at this point… so it’s not surprising that her new hilarious, deeply moving, gorgeously plotted, beautifully written, slyly subversive new novel, Sandwich, hit me like a ton of bricks…. a novel written from a place of wonder and love

Joanna Rakoff, NYT bestselling author of My Salinger Year

I adored this novel and am forcing it on everyone I know

Jenny Colgan, author of The Summer Skies

This will break your heart before putting it back together

Red

If you are after a book to pack on your next holiday, look no further. Here is a novel which will go down as easily as a chilled poolside drink ... Sandwich has such poignant things to say about family, marriage and parenting, while also casting a gorgeous light on those golden holiday days (even if you do spend most of the trip dragging sand around or looking for parking). A hilarious tonic of a book.

i Newspaper

Newman transitions with ease from moments of melancholy to observations which make you laugh out loud. A moving read which finds the joy in everyday life.

PA Media

Explores the compromises of a long marriage and the bittersweetness of children leaving home so beautifully

Good Housekeeping

This author has such an acute observation of relationships ... Catherine creates a real snapshot of families changing and growing

Prima

Engaging, frank, funny and moving and fearlessly explores middle age’s many challenges. In every sense the hot summer read.

Daily Mail