> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 16 May 2016
  • ISBN: 9780141347400
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $19.99

Salt To The Sea




Inspired by the worst disaster in maritime history, Ruta Sepetys, award-winning author of Between Shades of Gray, brilliantly tells a shocking, illuminating and ultimately life-affirming story from World War II.

It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed.
This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.

  • Pub date: 16 May 2016
  • ISBN: 9780141347400
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

Ruta Sepetys

Ruta Sepetys was born and raised in Michigan in a loving houshold, enjoyed her school years and bravely stepped into the world when she left home for Paris, France to live and work. She has her roots in a completely different medium, that of music and It was only when she visited relatives in Lithuania that she discovered a family history that was seemingly hidden, and realised that there was a personal story to tell of a cataclysmic event in European history that is not commonly known.

Between Shades of Gray is a story that is both poignant and extraordinary. It is both difficult to read, because it is so painful and so personal, and also uplifting - to discover the joy and spirit of the Lithuanian people.

Ruta Sepetys now lives in Tennessee with her family, enjoys their company and that of her friends and is passionate about the arts and truth.

Also by Ruta Sepetys

See all

Related titles