> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 April 2014
  • ISBN: 9780099575733
  • Imprint: Vintage
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $19.99

Red Joan




'A gripping, emotional and expertly plotted spy novel of the Cold War, inspired by a real story. Beautifully written and clever' KATE MOSSE

‘If you loved William Boyd’s Restless, you’ll enjoy this’ Viv Groskop, Red

Cambridge University in 1937 is awash with ideas and idealists – to unworldly Joan it is dazzling.

After a chance meeting with Russian-born Sonya and Leo, Joan is swept up in the glamour and energy of the duo, and finds herself growing closer and closer to them both.

But allegiance is a slippery thing. Out of university and working in a government ministry with access to top-secret information, Joan finds her loyalty tested as she is faced with the most difficult question of all: what price would you pay to remain true to yourself?'A gripping, emotional and expertly plotted spy novel of the Cold War, inspired by a real story. Beautifully written and clever' Kate MosseNOW A MAJOR FILM STARRING JUDI DENCH AND SOPHIE COOKSON

  • Published: 15 April 2014
  • ISBN: 9780099575733
  • Imprint: Vintage
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

Jennie Rooney

Jennie Rooney was born in Liverpool in 1980. She read History at the University of Cambridge and taught English in France before moving to London to work as a lawyer. Her first novel, Inside the Whale, was a Richard and Judy debut choice, Tesco Book Club selection and shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award. The Opposite of Falling was published in 2010 and Red Joan in 2013.

Also by Jennie Rooney

See all

Praise for Red Joan

A meditation on the secrets we keep... Red Joan's strength lies in the complex personal relationships that underpin the spying game... A powerfully-written exploration of the far-reaching consequences that even the smallest-seeming actions can have

Kaite Welsh, Literary Review

A brilliant spy novel, with an unlikely culprit and a deft, involving plot...tense, beautifully pitched and very moving novel

Eithne Farry, Marie Claire

Sensitive spy thriller… Finely detailed and resolutely sensitive… This excellent period novel still carries some considerable resonance in the age of Bradley Manning

Andrzej Lukowski, Metro

If you loved William Boyd’s Restless, you’ll enjoy this

Viv Groskop, Red

Compulsive reading... Rooney's approach it to make this a very personal story for Joan. There's love, loss, betrayal, friendship and secrets galore and it gives a believable insight on how one, normal person might be let to betray her country. The true mark of the story is that you find yourself thinking that you might have done exactly what Joan did in those circumstances

The Bookbag

A gripping, emotional and expertly plotted spy novel of the Cold War, inspired by a real story. Beautifully written and clever

Kate Mosse

One of Britain's brightest young writing talents

Nic Bottomley, Bath Life

Gripping

Glamour

A great thriller and a stirring love story

Grazia

A gripping narrative and a compelling lead character... This is an absorbing and accomplished novel

LittleReaderLibrary

A very human Cold War thriller

Good Housekeeping

Rooney is a novelist at home with life’s ambiguities, her plotting pleasingly intricate, her narrative richly textured

Lucy Beresford, Sunday Telegraph (Seven)

A captivating read

Choice

An exciting and intelligent novel... Rooney's re-creation of the politics of the day is brilliant

Kate Saunders, The Times

Particulary acute on the muddle of emotion, reason and morality that festers around betrayal...compelling, impressively detailed story, with thrillerish overtones...

Elizabeth Buchan, The Sunday Times

A wonderfully plotted spy drama full of intrigue and suspense… A fantastic read

UK Regional Press Syndication

Extremely readable

Mark Perryman, Hufffington Post

A wonderfully plotted spy drama full of intrigue and suspense… A fantastic read

Women's Way

Red Joan is a provocative novel that will get people talking. It’s perfect for an engrossing solo read or to fire the phosphorous flame of discussion in a book club

Rhian Davis, Catholic Herald

A brilliant spy novel, with an unlikely culprit and a deft, involving plot... Tense, beautifully pitched and very moving

Marie Claire

[A] polished, intricate novel… rich in moral ambiguity

Sunday Telegraph

This powerfully-written spy thriller is compulsive reading

Falkirk Herald

A gripping spy novel with an unlikely culprit and a thoroughly researched basis in fact... Perfect for fans of William Boyd's Restless

Absolutely Chelsea

Related titles