> Skip to content

An exciting and unforgettable graphic novel that takes you on a magical adventure to a place where everything is never as it seems . . .

An exciting and unforgettable graphic novel that takes you on a magical adventure to a place where everything is never as it seems . . .
Welcome to Opposite Land – where socks wear feet, broccoli is meat, behind is ahead, and people poop from their head!

After the worst day ever, Steve discovers a strange book written upside down and back to front. That night, when its words become mysteriously clear and Steve begins to read them, she’s transported to the topsy-turvy world in the book – Opposite Land. In this extraordinarily peculiar place, roads float in mid-air, people live in giant snail shells and monsters are made of pasta!

But all that will change once Emperor Never gets his way and destroys Opposite Land for good. When a flying cabbage called Sanjiv reveals that Steve is the only one who can defeat the emperor, it’s up to Steve to face her fears and save the world.

Can Steve help restore Opposite Land to its former glory and find her way back home?

Reviews

The gorgeous, funky artwork and rampantly silly story make this book ideal for fans of Captain Underpants and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

Kate McDonnell, Junior Books+Publishing

Readers who enjoy cartoons of the Adventure Time ilk will really get into the comic style of the graphics as well as the strangeness of Opposite Land … Recommended for readers from around eight years upwards.

losangzopa.wordpress.com

Both my 8-year-old girls picked this book up and read it cover to cover. They said it was “ridiculous” and “funny”, particularly that people in Opposite Land “pooped ice-cream” ... The cover is bright and enticing and in graphic novel format, so it presents like a comic, packed with pictures to draw in emerging or reluctant readers.

Carissa Mason, Reading Time

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780143780816

    July 31, 2017

    Random House Australia Children's

    144 pages

    RRP $14.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9780143780809

    July 31, 2017

    Random House Australia

    144 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Recommendations

Double Down: Diary of a Wimpy Kid (BK11)
Archie Comics Spectacular
Kevin Keller
Northern Lights - The Graphic Novel
All's Faire In Middle School
5 Worlds Book 1
Invisible Emmie
Lulu and the Chocolate Wedding
Northern Lights - The Graphic Novel Volume 1
Sonic / Mega Man
DFC Library: Baggage
Spring-Heeled Jack
Skylanders Spyro & Friends
Donald Duck Nest Of The Demonbirds
Plants Vs. Zombies Volume 9 The Greatest Show Unearthed
Hanazuki Full Of Treasures
Uncle Scrooge The Third Nile
Mickey Mouse The Magnificent Doublejoke
Elenora Mandragora Daughter Of Merlin
Ducktales Treasure Trove