> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 3 September 2019
  • ISBN: 9780241388396
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 496
  • RRP: $19.99

Noughts & Crosses




Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power - soon to be a major new BBC TV series!

Sephy is a Cross: dark-skinned and beautiful, she lives a life of privilege and power. But she burns with injustice at the world she sees around her. Callum is a nought: pale-skinned and poor, he's considered to be less than nothing. But he dreams of a better life.

Then - in spite of a world that is fiercely against them - these star-crossed lovers choose each other. But this is love story that will lead both of them into terrible danger . . . and which will have shocking repercussions for generations to come.

This new edition will feature a brand-new tie-in cover, using artwork from the BBC production.

  • Pub date: 3 September 2019
  • ISBN: 9780241388396
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 496
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

Malorie Blackman

Malorie Blackman has written over 60 books for children and young adults, including the Noughts & Crosses series, Thief and most recently her science fiction thriller Chasing the Stars. Her work has also been adapted for TV with the 6-part adaptation of Pig-Heart Boy winning a BAFTA and Noughts & Crosses currently in production for the BBC, with Roc Nation (Jay-Z's entertainment company) on board to curate and release the soundtrack as Executive Producer. A stage adaptation of the book, by Pilot Theatre, will run from February 2019, under the direction of Sabrina Mahfouz. In 2005, Malorie was honoured with the Eleanor Farjeon Award in recognition of her distinguished contribution to the world of children’s books, in 2008 she received an OBE for her services to children’s literature and, between 2013 and 2015, she was the Children’s Laureate. Malorie is currently writing for the new Doctor Who series on BBC One and the fifth novel in her Noughts & Crosses sequence, Crossfire, will be published by Penguin Random House Children's in summer 2019.

Also by Malorie Blackman

See all

Related titles