> Skip to content

A dark, funny, coming of age novel from one of the UK’s leading comedians

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn’t?

Nina’s mum isn’t so sure. But she’s busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina’s almost an adult after all.

And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina’s drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.

But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can’t help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her…

A dark, funny - sometimes shocking - coming of age novel from one of the UK’s leading comedians. NINA IS NOT O.K. will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.

Reviews

Shappi Khorsandi is both funny and shocking, yet above all writes with warmth, giving Nina an intelligent voice. This girl could be you, or your daughter, or your friend, and I defy anyone not to love the endearing, messed-up Nina as she finds her way out of an alcohol-fuelled hell of her own making.

Daily Mail

dark and funny...brilliant

Simon Mayo

It's absolutely bloody magnificent

Marian Keyes

Breathtakingly honest and laugh-out-loud funny… perfectly captures the anxieties of youth

Red Magazine

Khorsandi pulls no punches in her first novel...Equal parts straight-talking, funny and worrying, this is a coming-of-age tale rebooted for the era of social media and slut-shaming.

Glamour Magazine

Absolutely brilliant - funny, dark and terribly upsetting, and the voice is incredibly loud and true...a pure marvel

Jenny Colgan

Astoundingly good. An important, touching, powerful and occasionally funny read

Adam Hills

Nina Is Not OK is an entertaining, thought-provoking read...dark, honest, confessional story...shocking, rude and dark ...while being ultimately incredibly moving and hopeful. Nina Is Not OK will have you chuckling, gasping and welling up as you follow Nina's road to recovery and finding out what she needs to do to live the life she wants.

Psychologies

Unexpectedly moving, emotional and funny

Richard E Grant, (on Shappi Khorsandi)

I finished Nina Is Not Ok in one sitting. Funny, sharp, and heartbreakingly honest, this is Rachel's Holiday for young adults

Louise Oâ??Neill

moving, funny and shocking all at once, an almost perfect description of the empty highs and crashing lows of addiction

The Telegraph

Shappi Khorsandi’s debut novel, Nina is Not OK, is a moreish read...Shappi’s writing is raw and connective...

Gemma Cairney, THE POOL

Compelling debut novel. Nina is ... a vibrant and lovable character. Relentless in her actions, her inner monologues are full of warmth and w uses her comedy skills to great effect in her debut.

Irish Times

A brilliant debut

Dawn O'Porter

a powerful book and a cautionary tale... it's also a touching celebration of human determination in the overcoming of adversity.

Press Association

Darkly funny debut

Radio Times

Funny and warm, heartbreaking too. Impressive debut!

Claire Allan

emotional, raw, deeply moving and…funny too

The Scotsman

...a really rather good YA crossover ... while Khorsandi's novel tackles some pretty big subjects, it does so while making you laugh out loud

Metro

I really couldn’t put this book down. It’s not just for young people but if you have a teenage daughter, please make her read it.

The Sun

I am loving Shappi Khorsandi's Nina is Not OK, she is making me care about 'Nina' so much that I get anxious on her behalf

Jenny Eclair

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9781785031373

    February 15, 2017

    Ebury Press

    352 pages

    RRP $22.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • Hardback

    9781785031366

    August 18, 2016

    Ebury Press

    352 pages

    RRP $27.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781473528260

    July 28, 2016

    Ebury Digital

    352 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Shappi Khorsandi

A Beginner's Guide To Acting English

Recommendations

The Handmaid's Tale
To Kill A Mockingbird
Best Laid Plans
Echo Burning
A Gentleman in Moscow
Fool Me Once
Private Delhi
The Girl on the Train
The Heart's Invisible Furies
Voyager
Swing Time
The Narrow Road to the Deep North
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
The Girls
The Mistress
The Bone Collection
Cold Blood
Fifty Shades Darker
Colombiano
The Trip of a Lifetime