> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 October 2018
  • ISBN: 9780552174794
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $19.99

Need To Know

'You won't be able to put it down!' Shari Lapena, author of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR




You know him. You love him. You trust him. Until today . . .
For fans of GONE GIRL and THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR, NEED TO KNOW is the most relentless psychological thriller you will read all year.

Married for ten years. Four children. She thought she knew her husband better than anyone.
She was wrong.

'Heart-poundingly suspenseful and heart-wrenchingly insightful' J.P.Delaney, author of The Girl Before

'This compulsive, clever thriller will have you reading long into the night' Red

****

You get to work. Make a coffee. Turn on your computer.

Your task: break into a Russian criminal's laptop and find proof that he's concealing five deep-cover agents - seemingly normal people living in plain sight.

You're in. Five faces stare back at you.

One of them is your husband.

****

'An immensely satisfying story with serpentine twists and turns' Daily Mail

  • Published: 15 October 2018
  • ISBN: 9780552174794
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

Karen Cleveland

Karen Cleveland spent eight years as a CIA analyst, focusing on counterterrorism and working briefly on rotation to the FBI. She has master’s degrees from Trinity College Dublin and Harvard University. She lives in northern Virginia with her husband and two young sons. Her first novel, Need to Know, was critically acclaimed, a Simon Mayo Book Club pick, and a Sunday Times bestseller.

Also by Karen Cleveland

See all

Praise for Need To Know

I raced through this gripping tale of domesticity and deceit. Cleveland deliciously ratchets up the tension at every turn . . . you won't be able to put it down until the final, stunning page!

SHARI LAPENA, author of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR

Heart-poundingly suspenseful and heart-wrenchingly insightful, NEED TO KNOW hums with authentic detail, crisp storytelling, and characters that will long stay in your thoughts.

J. P. DELANEY, author of THE GIRL BEFORE

This compulsive, clever thriller will have you reading long into the night.

Red

If you liked THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR, try NEED TO KNOW by Karen Cleveland . . . Thrillers don't get much more twisty and turny than this one. If you don't mind staying up reading til 3am, this is the one for you.

BBC Arts and Entertainment, 'Books To Look Out For in 2018'

Impressively compelling . . . this is probably the banker among the New Year crop thanks to its sheer page-turning readability.

John Williams, Mail on Sunday

The heart-stopping plot barely lets up pace throughout this brilliant novel.

Heat

You'll devour this terrific debut like the rest of us, skipping lunch, losing sleep, turning pages until the end, where we're all left waiting for more.

JOHN GRISHAM

Karen Cleveland is the real deal - an exciting new voice in thrillers.

PATRICIA CORNWELL

Prediction: if you read chapter one, you'll read chapter two. If you read chapter two, you'll miss dinner, stay up far too late, and feel tired at work tomorrow. This is that kind of book. Superb.

LEE CHILD

Remarkable

Sunday Times Magazine - Thriller of the Month

An immensely satisfying story with serpentine twists and turns . . . ingenious and compelling.

Daily Mail

Discover more

Video
Need to Know by Karen Cleveland

Vivian Miller is a CIA analyst assigned to uncover Russian sleeper cells in the USA. After accessing the computer of a potential Russian spy, she stumbles on a secret dossier of deep-cover agents living in her own country. Five seemingly normal people living in plain sight. A few clicks later, everything that matters to Vivian is threatened – her job, her husband, even her four children... Learn more - https://www.penguin.com.au/books/need-to-know-9780593079607

Article
10 things you didn’t know about life in the CIA

Author Karen Cleveland shares the inside scoop on life inside America’s CIA.

Article
Five minutes with Karen Cleveland

The author of espionage-thriller Need to Know on her real-life inspiration for the novel.

Related titles