> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 October 2010
  • ISBN: 9781409012320
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 256

Midwinter Nightingale

A wonderfully exhilarating new Dido Twite adventure, tenth in the Wolves of Willoughby Chase series.

King Richard, son of James III lies gravely ill and there are rumours that the king's enemy, the Duchess of Burgundy, is preparing an imminent invasion. The ancient crown of Alfred must be found so King Richard can pass it on to his successor. Is Simon, Duke of Battersea and friend of the king, next in line to the throne or will the evil werewolf Baron Magnus Rudh succeed in his plot to make his son, Lot, king? To add further complications, Dido Twite, held prisoner by the Baron and the Duchess, does not know the whereabouts of either Simon or the dying king: can she escape in time to find and warn them of the treachery afoot? This adventure with a truly galloping plot and breath-taking situations will delight all fans of Joan Aiken's books

  • Published: 1 October 2010
  • ISBN: 9781409012320
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 256

About the author

Joan Aiken

Joan Aiken was born in Sussex in 1924. She was the daughter of the American poet, Conrad Aiken; her sister, Jane Aiken Hodge, is also a novelist. Before joining the 'family business' herself, Joan had a variety of jobs, including working for the BBC, the United Nations Information Centre and then as features editor for a short story magazine. Her first children's novel, The Kingdom of the Cave, was published in 1960.

Joan Aiken wrote over a hundred books for young readers and adults and is recognized as one of the classic authors of the twentieth century. Amanda Craig, writing in The Times,said,'She was a consummate story-teller, one that each generation discovers anew.' Her best-known books are those in the James III saga, of which The Wolves of Willoughby Chase was the first title, published in 1962 and awarded the Lewis Carroll prize. Both that and Black Hearts in Battersea have been filmed. Her books are internationally acclaimed and she received the Edgar Allan Poe Award in the United States as well as the Guardian Award for Fiction in this country for The Whispering Mountain.

Joan Aiken was decorated with an MBE for her services to children's books. She died in 2004.

Also by Joan Aiken

See all

Praise for Midwinter Nightingale

Playful, urgent and wildly inventive, Aiken`s language is always potent. Readers with a taste for mystery and complexity will find much to savour

Publishers Weekly

Joan Aiken is a marvel

Philip Pullman, Guardian

A writer of wild humour and unrestrained imagination

Oxford Companion to Children's Literature

"As fantastic as any of its predecessors . . . Richly imagined and superbly told, this adventure is a welcome extension to the series and will doubtless gather new readers to ot."

John Malam, Manchester Evening News

Aiken is a marvellous writer with the ability to captivate her young readers from an early stage in the book.

Bolton Evening News

. . . a swashbuckling drama that shows that Aiken's imagination never dimmed

Nicolette Jones, Sunday Times

Related titles