> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 July 2018
  • ISBN: 9780553523812
  • Imprint: RH USA Kids Trade
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 40
  • RRP: $13.99

Mad Scientist Academy The Weather Disaster




Fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, will want to join Dr. Cosmic’s class of clever monsters as they face down snow, floods, and a dangerous thunderstorm when freak weather conditions threaten the school in the second book of the Mad Scientist Academy series.

Dr. Cosmic can’t wait to introduce the students to his latest invention, the CHAOS machine, designed to keep the school at the right temperature for learning. But when the machine starts to malfunction, causing extreme weather conditions, the students must use their upgraded handbooks to stop CHAOS before it destroys the entire school!

Join Dr. Cosmic’s clever class of monsters as they solve the greatest challenges in science, in this blend of adventure and exploration, perfect for Common Core and STEM.

"With outlandish situations rendering scientific concepts memorable, McElligott has concocted a winning formula for learning as entertainment."--Kirkus Reviews

"Science fans and comics enthusiasts will dive right into this . . . There's enough fun here for anyone." —School Library Journal

"Engaging and educational." —Booklist

"No need for MSA kids to take a field trip: what could be more interesting than school?" —The Bulletin


From the Hardcover edition.

  • Pub date: 15 July 2018
  • ISBN: 9780553523812
  • Imprint: RH USA Kids Trade
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 40
  • RRP: $13.99

Also by Matthew McElligott

See all

Praise for Mad Scientist Academy The Weather Disaster

“Praise for Mad Scientist Academy: The Dinosaur Disaster “An informative but hair-raising tour of a rather-too-realistic dinosaur exhibit gives six new students a memorable first day at Mad Scientist Academy. . . . Mad fun.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred “Like Joanna Cole and Bruce Degen’s Magic School Bus series (Scholastic), the use of a school setting, a quirky teacher, and wild hands-on learning situations provides an engaging blend of humor, adventure, and information.” —School Library Journal Kids’ Indie Next List “One of Summer’s Must-Read Children’s Books.” —Bookish.com”


Related titles