> Skip to content

Some of our favourite 2017 YA books!

The Penguin Teen Australia Super-Proof is back! Featuring extracts from some of our fave YA titles for this year, the Penguin Teen Australia 2017 Super-Proof includes writing from Fleur Ferris,  Robert Newton, Kiersten White and more!

  • From the author of CBCA-shortlisted Yellow comes a powerful exploration of family and identity set against the humid build-up to the wet season in Darwin.

  • The stunning, highly anticipated new novel from the acclaimed author of The Accident Season.

  • Bad things happen. Fight to make things right. Or let it wreck your life.

  • Valentine is the first in a smart and page-turning YA series with a paranormal twist.

  • At times funny, at times heartbreaking, this is an ultimately uplifting story about the delicate fabric of family and friendship, and the painful realisation that not everything can remain the same forever.

  • A compelling story of heartbreak, courage and forgiveness from the award-winning author of The Whole of My World and One True Thing.

  • Heartfelt, evocative and compelling – another masterpiece from the award-winning Robert Newton.

  • The action-packed sequel to the sci-fi adventure Unwanted. Desperation makes people irrational. And that makes them dangerous. Bea Azaeli and the other survivors of the resistance have escaped the human prison that was their city, but how will they survive in the wild?

  • Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost. The mind-blowing sequel to AND I DARKEN, described by Buzzfeed as ‘A dark, gritty, and seriously badass epic’ is a sweeping Ottoman-inspired historical adventure. Starring the inimitable anti-princess Lada, the dagger-wielding drama of her story is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Victoria Aveyard.

More Book Lists

Must-Reads in Your 40s

Books to enjoy through life’s middle part.

A Guide to Robert Drewe

An introduction to Robert Drewe’s literary life.

The Meet... Series

Learn about extraordinary figures in Australia's history in this picture book series.

Essential Crime & Thrillers

Get on the case with some scintillating 2017 white-knuckle rides.

Popular Page-turners So Far

A look back at some of 2017’s hottest releases to date.

Must-Reads in Your 30s

Essential books for those transitioning into adulthood.