> Skip to content

Some of our favourite 2017 YA books!

The Penguin Teen Australia Super-Proof is back! Featuring extracts from some of our fave YA titles for this year, the Penguin Teen Australia 2017 Super-Proof includes writing from Fleur Ferris,  Robert Newton, Kiersten White and more!

  • The stunning, highly anticipated new novel from the acclaimed author of The Accident Season.

  • Sarah J. Maas meets Holly Black with an OzYA twist. Valentine is the first book in Jodi McAlister's page-turning paranormal YA series featuring Pearl Linford and Finn Blacklin.

  • At times funny, at times heartbreaking, this is an ultimately uplifting story about the delicate fabric of family and friendship, and the painful realisation that not everything can remain the same forever.

  • Heartfelt, evocative and compelling – another masterpiece from the award-winning Robert Newton.

  • Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost. The mind-blowing sequel to AND I DARKEN, described by Buzzfeed as ‘A dark, gritty, and seriously badass epic’ is a sweeping Ottoman-inspired historical adventure. Starring the inimitable anti-princess Lada, the dagger-wielding drama of her story is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Victoria Aveyard.

  • From the author of CBCA-shortlisted Yellow comes a powerful exploration of family and identity set against the humid build-up to the wet season in Darwin.

  • Bad things happen. Fight to make things right. Or let it wreck your life.

  • A compelling story of heartbreak, courage and forgiveness from the award-winning author of The Whole of My World and One True Thing.

  • BookShots are short, high-impact stories by James Patterson and other writers that can be read in one sitting. Each and every one is fast-paced, 100% story-driven; a shot of pure and satisfying entertainment. Available as compact paperbacks, ebooks and audio.

More Book Lists

Beginner Readers

A collection of the best new Australian stories for beginner readers in 2020.

Love Dad, Love Penguin

Book recommendations to show all kinds of Dads all kinds of love this Father’s Day.

Australia Out Loud

Audiobooks revealing unique perspectives, observed through an Australian lens.

Familiar Tones

Well-known and much-loved celebrity voices bringing audiobooks to life.

Winter Earwarmers

Nestle in, cue up an audiobook, and drift.

Father's Day

Settle in with your little ones and enjoy quality time with these Dad-tastic reads!