> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 31 July 2017
  • ISBN: 9780143783435
  • Imprint: Random House Australia Children's
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $16.99

Lintang and the Pirate Queen




Incredibly exciting adventure on the high seas, filled with deadly creatures, impossible tasks, dangerous quests, nailbiting battles . . . and two friends determined to make their way in the world.

Lintang dreams of having adventures on the high seas.

When a deadly mythie attacks the same day the infamous Captain Shafira visits her island, Lintang gets her chance, defending her village with a bravery that earns her a place on the pirate queen’s ship.

But they’ve barely left the island when Lintang discovers her best friend, Bayani, has stowed away. Telling Captain Shafira means betraying her friend, but keeping Bayani’s secret risks everything . . . including their lives.

'A wonderful book with deliciously unexpected twists and turns, and the best pirate queen ever!' Lian Tanner, bestselling author of THE KEEPERS

'Combine a pirate adventure of mythic proportions, a uniquely charming cast of characters, and a vivid new fantasy world and you get Lintang and the Pirate Queen. Magical, inventive, and positively unforgettable.' Marissa Meyer, #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE LUNAR CHRONICLES

'Tamara Moss has created a rich and diverse world full of memorable characters and magical creatures. A delight to read.' Claire Fayers, author of THE ACCIDENTAL PIRATES

  • Pub date: 31 July 2017
  • ISBN: 9780143783435
  • Imprint: Random House Australia Children's
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $16.99

About the Author

Tamara Moss

West Australian author Tamara Moss has been writing seriously for over a decade. After majoring in Asian Studies at the University of Western Australia, Tamara has taught Japanese, interned at indie publisher Twelfth Planet Press, and worked at many different schools. She is currently teaching upper primary. Lintang and the Pirate Queen is Tamara’s first novel and she is working on the second and third books in the series.

Also by Tamara Moss

See all

Praise for Lintang and the Pirate Queen

“A wonderful book with deliciously unexpected twists and turns, and the best Pirate Queen ever!”

Lian Tanner, bestselling author of THE KEEPERS

“Combine a pirate adventure of mythic proportions, a uniquely charming cast of characters, and a vivid new fantasy world and you get Lintang and the Pirate Queen. Magical, inventive, and positively unforgettable.”

Marissa Meyer, #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE LUNAR CHRONICLES

“Lintang and the Pirate Queen by debut author Tamara Moss is full of well-paced adventure, maintaining the reader’s interest with cleverly foreshadowed twists in the action. Moss has created an unusual fantasy world, peopled with a pleasingly diverse cast of characters and containing a thought-provoking undertone that will hopefully continue to play out in later instalments. Interspersed with stunning illustrations by James Brouwer, this middle-grade fantasy adventure should appeal to fans of Lian Tanner and Catherine Jinks aged nine and up.”

Tehani Croft, Books + Publishing

“Tamara Moss has created a rich and diverse world full of memorable characters and magical creatures. A delight to read.”

Claire Fayers, author of THE ACCIDENTAL PIRATES

“Lintang and the Pirate Queen has a brave heroine, secrets, and more adventure than we thought was possible to jam-pack onto a page.”

Total Girl

“Lintang and the Pirate Queen is an empowering tale, entertainingly written and full of excitement and humour. Moss conjures up a world both familiar and new, and fills it with bold and diverse characters. Fresh and exciting, a thoroughly enjoyable read.”

Christian Price, Reading Time

“This fantasy will have readers waiting for the next with anticipation. It is fast paced, very readable, and littered with unknown mythic creatures . . . a wonderful introduction to a new fantasy series for upper primary readers. Lintang is strong and daring, disobeying orders even from the pirate queen. The mythies are wonderful, with connections to many mythical creatures of fairy tales, myths and legends but organised and presented in a way not seen before.”

Fran Knight, Magpies

“A bright and original debut by Tamara Moss, packed with diverse characters and clever world-building.”

WritingWA

“This is a fantastic read with unexpected twists and turns and the bravest pirate queen there ever was . . . This book will quickly become popular with students from 11 and up. It is a book full of determination, grit and challenges. Friendship is a strong theme throughout the story and I predict it will continue to develop as the series continues.”

Kathryn Schumacher, ReadPlus

“This is a wonderful novel from debut author Tamara Moss. Full of adventure, mystery, and brave and interesting characters that you will fall in love with . . . a perfect introduction to fantasy for Year 5 and 6 students, who will wish they could sail the seas with a Pirate Queen like Shafira!”

Lamont Books

“In a cast of powerful and charmingly eccentric female characters, high-spirited Lintang distinguishes herself with a vulnerability and, often, immaturity that slowly gives way to burgeoning leadership. Women of color take center stage in this fast-paced adventure about friendship, loyalty, and defiantly fighting for one’s destiny.”

Publishers Weekly


Awards & Recognition

  • Readings Book Prize

    Shortlisted • 2018 • Children's

  • CBCA Book of the Year Awards

    Notable Book • 2018 • Younger Readers

  • WAYBRA Children's Choice Awards

    Shortlisted • 2019 • Younger Readers


Related titles