> Skip to content

Incredibly exciting adventure on the high seas, filled with deadly creatures, impossible tasks, dangerous quests, nailbiting battles . . . and two friends determined to make their way in the world.

Lintang dreams of having adventures on the high seas.

When a deadly mythie attacks the same day the infamous Captain Shafira visits her island, Lintang gets her chance, defending her village with a bravery that earns her a place on the pirate queen’s ship.

But they’ve barely left the island when Lintang discovers her best friend, Bayani, has stowed away. Telling Captain Shafira means betraying her friend, but keeping Bayani’s secret risks everything . . . including their lives.

'A wonderful book with deliciously unexpected twists and turns, and the best pirate queen ever!' Lian Tanner, bestselling author of THE KEEPERS

'Combine a pirate adventure of mythic proportions, a uniquely charming cast of characters, and a vivid new fantasy world and you get Lintang and the Pirate Queen. Magical, inventive, and positively unforgettable.'
Marissa Meyer, #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE LUNAR CHRONICLES

'Tamara Moss has created a rich and diverse world full of memorable characters and magical creatures. A delight to read.' Claire Fayers, author of THE ACCIDENTAL PIRATES

Reviews

Lintang and the Pirate Queen has a brave heroine, secrets, and more adventure than we thought was possible to jam-pack onto a page.

Total Girl, Total Girl

A wonderful book with deliciously unexpected twists and turns, and the best Pirate Queen ever!

Lian Tanner, bestselling author of THE KEEPERS

Lintang and the Pirate Queen by debut author Tamara Moss is full of well-paced adventure, maintaining the reader’s interest with cleverly foreshadowed twists in the action. Moss has created an unusual fantasy world, peopled with a pleasingly diverse cast of characters and containing a thought-provoking undertone that will hopefully continue to play out in later instalments. Interspersed with stunning illustrations by James Brouwer, this middle-grade fantasy adventure should appeal to fans of Lian Tanner and Catherine Jinks aged nine and up.

Tehani Croft, Books + Publishing

Combine a pirate adventure of mythic proportions, a uniquely charming cast of characters, and a vivid new fantasy world and you get Lintang and the Pirate Queen. Magical, inventive, and positively unforgettable.

Marissa Meyer, #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE LUNAR CHRONICLES

This fantasy will have readers waiting for the next with anticipation. It is fast paced, very readable, and littered with unknown mythic creatures . . . a wonderful introduction to a new fantasy series for upper primary readers. Lintang is strong and daring, disobeying orders even from the pirate queen. The mythies are wonderful, with connections to many mythical creatures of fairy tales, myths and legends but organised and presented in a way not seen before.

Fran Knight, Magpies

This is a wonderful novel from debut author Tamara Moss. Full of adventure, mystery, and brave and interesting characters that you will fall in love with . . . a perfect introduction to fantasy for Year 5 and 6 students, who will wish they could sail the seas with a Pirate Queen like Shafira!

Lamont Books

Tamara Moss has created a rich and diverse world full of memorable characters and magical creatures. A delight to read.

Claire Fayers, author of THE ACCIDENTAL PIRATES

A wonderful book with deliciously unexpected twists and turns, and the best Pirate Queen ever!

Lian Tanner, bestselling author of THE KEEPERS

Combine a pirate adventure of mythic proportions, a uniquely charming cast of characters, and a vivid new fantasy world and you get Lintang and the Pirate Queen. Magical, inventive, and positively unforgettable.

Marissa Meyer, #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE LUNAR CHRONICLES

Lintang and the Pirate Queen is an empowering tale, entertainingly written and full of excitement and humour. Moss conjures up a world both familiar and new, and fills it with bold and diverse characters. Fresh and exciting, a thoroughly enjoyable read.

Christian Price, Reading Time

Tamara Moss has created a rich and diverse world full of memorable characters and magical creatures. A delight to read.

Claire Fayers, author of THE ACCIDENTAL PIRATES

Lintang and the Pirate Queen has a brave heroine, secrets, and more adventure than we thought was possible to jam-pack onto a page.

Total Girl

This is a fantastic read with unexpected twists and turns and the bravest pirate queen there ever was . . . This book will quickly become popular with students from 11 and up. It is a book full of determination, grit and challenges. Friendship is a strong theme throughout the story and I predict it will continue to develop as the series continues.

Kathryn Schumacher, ReadPlus

A bright and original debut by Tamara Moss, packed with diverse characters and clever world-building.

WritingWA

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780143783435

    July 31, 2017

    Random House Australia Children's

    336 pages

    RRP $16.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9780143783428

    July 31, 2017

    RHA eBooks Child

    336 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Tamara Moss

Lintang and the Forbidden Island
Lintang Forbidden Island POS pack

Recommendations

The Wee Free Men
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons series)
Camp Half-Blood Confidential
Inheritance
Ranger's Apprentice 1: The Ruins Of Gorlan
Hollow City
Grimsdon
Fallen
Eldest
Hatchimals: Hatchy Holidays! Sticker Activity Book
The Red Queen: The Obernewtyn Chronicles Volume 7
Billy and the Minpins
The Witch's Vacuum Cleaner
Spook’s: Dark Assassin
A Matter-Of-Fact Magic Book
The Snow Merchant
The Monster Story-Teller
Lyra's Oxford
Wintersmith
WaR: Wizards And Robots