> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 September 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407048017
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

Knife Edge

the gripping Sunday Times bestseller




Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power, Knife Edge is the incredible second novel in iconic author Malorie Blackman's ground-breaking four-part YA series, Noughts & Crosses.

'Devastatingly powerful' Guardian

No one could begin to guess at the depth of the hatred I held for Sephy Hadley. Everything began with her and my brother. And that's how it would end.

Where there has been love, now there is hate. Two families have been shattered by the divided and violent society they live in.

Sephy Hadley - a Cross, supposedly powerful and privileged - has bound herself forever to her nought lover Callum McGregor's family.But Jude McGregor blames Sephy for all the tragedies his family has suffered. And he is determined to force her to take sides, and destroy her life . . . just like she destroyed his. . . Voted as one of the UK's best-loved books, Malorie Blackman's Noughts & Crosses series is a seminal piece of YA fiction; a true modern classic.

'Moving and thought-provoking' Observer

  • Published: 1 September 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407048017
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

About the author

Malorie Blackman

Malorie Blackman has written over seventy books for children and young adults, including the Noughts & Crosses series, Thief and a science-fiction thriller, Chasing the Stars. Many of her books have also been adapted for stage and television, including a BAFTA-award-winning BBC production of Pig-Heart Boy and a Pilot Theatre stage adaptation by Sabrina Mahfouz of Noughts & Crosses. There is also a major BBC production of Noughts & Crosses, with Roc Nation (Jay-Z’s entertainment company) curating the soundtrack as executive music producer. In 2005 Malorie was honoured with the Eleanor Farjeon Award in recognition of her distinguished contribution to the world of children’s books. In 2008 she received an OBE for her services to children’s literature, and between 2013 and 2015 she was the Children’s Laureate. Most recently Malorie wrote for the Doctor Who series on BBC One, and the fifth novel in her Noughts & Crosses series, Crossfire, was published by Penguin Random House Children’s in summer 2019.

Also by Malorie Blackman

See all

Related titles