> Skip to content
  • Published: 3 June 2013
  • ISBN: 9780857981677
  • Imprint: Random House Australia
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 10

Kids Stink (A Tom Weekly Story)



A very funny Tom Weekly story from the slightly warped brains of the author and illustrator of My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up.

A very funny Tom Weekly story from the slightly warped brains of the author and illustrator of My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up.

Think your grandpa's angry? Think again. I'm Tom Weekly and my Pop is the angriest grandpa in Australia. The world, maybe. He hates nurses, harmless marine mammals and kids. Especially kids. Problem is, I have to interview him for school. And I’ve caught him on a bad day. A real bad day.

Believe me, you do not want to hear what my grandfather has to say. But if you must, then download this short story.


What reviewers said about the first Tom Weekly book, My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up:

'These bite-sized bursts of fun are inspired by Paul Jennings, Andrew Daddo and Andy Griffiths, the sort of stories that will keep kids enthralled.' Oliver Phommavanh in Buzz Words Books

'A sort of Aussie tall-tale version of Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Bancks’ latest features stories with a high-level gross-out factor.' Booklist

'Are you ready to laugh? Yes? Good. Because you won't be able to help yourself once you open this cover … Boys will love this book. Fans of Griffiths, Gleitzman and Jennings will be thrilled to have this book in their collection.' www.kids-bookreview.com

  • Published: 3 June 2013
  • ISBN: 9780857981677
  • Imprint: Random House Australia
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 10

About the authors

Tristan Bancks

Tristan Bancks tells stories for the page and screen. His books for kids and teens include Two Wolves, The Fall, Detention, the Tom Weekly series and Nit Boy. His books have won and been shortlisted for many awards, including a Children’s Book Council of Australia Honour Book, the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards, ABIA, YABBA, KOALA, NSW Premier’s Literary Awards and Queensland Literary Awards. His new release for 2021 is Ginger Meggs, a 100th anniversary book of brand new short stories based on characters created by his great-great uncle, Jimmy Bancks, in 1921.


Tristan is a writer-ambassador for literacy charity Room to Read. He is currently working with producers to develop a number of his books for the screen. He’s excited by the future of storytelling and inspiring others to create. You can find out more about Tristan’s books, play games, watch videos, join his Young Writers’ StorySchool and help him try to change the world at tristanbancks.com

Gus Gordon

Gus Gordon is an internationally acclaimed illustrator and author. He has illustrated and written over 80 books for children. His illustrations are known for their loose and energetic line work, mixed media and humour. His writing is always anthropomorphic. He attributes this to his love of Kenneth Grahame's Wind in The Willows.
Gus's first picture book, Wendy, was a Notable Book in the 2010 Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Picture Book of the Year Awards.

His second picture book, Herman and Rosie, now published in twelve countries, has been internationally acclaimed and awarded.

Somewhere Else was published by Penguin Random House Australia in 2016 and has won many awards internationally, including a 2017 CBCA Notable book and 2017 book of the year for 5-8 year olds in the Speech Pathology book awards in Australia.

Related titles