> Skip to content
  • Published: 7 July 2022
  • ISBN: 9781529100761
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 320
  • RRP: $39.99
Categories:

Juniper & Thorn




From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Wolf and the Woodsman comes a gothic retelling of The Juniper Tree, where a young witch seeks to discover her identity.

'A tale of fear and survival, hope and yearning and defiance, in timelessly elegant prose. It will enchant you, break your heart, and chill you to the very marrow.' Samantha Shannon on The Wolf and the Woodsman

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Wolf and the Woodsman comes a gothic retelling of The Juniper Tree, where a young witch seeks to discover her identity and escape the domination of her abusive wizard father. Perfect for fans of Angela Carter, Catherynne M. Valente and Shirley Jackson
_________________________________

A gruesome curse. A city in upheaval. A monster with unquenchable appetites.

As the last true witches living in a city shifting from magic to industry, Marlinchen and her two sisters are little more than tourist traps as they treat their clients with archaic remedies and beguile them with nostalgic charm. Marlinchen spends her days divining secrets in exchange for rubles and trying to placate their tyrannical, xenophobic wizard father, who keeps his daughters sequestered from the outside world. While at night, she and her sisters sneak out to enjoy the city's amenities and revel in its thrills, particularly the recently established ballet theatre, where Marlinchen meets a dancer who quickly captures her heart.

But as Marlinchen's late-night trysts grow more fervent and frequent, so does the threat of her father's rage and magic. And while the city flourishes with culture and bustles with enterprise, a monster lurks in its midst, borne of intolerance and resentment and suffused with old-world power. Caught between history and progress and blood and desire, Marlinchen must draw upon her own magic to keep her city safe and find her place within it.

  • Published: 7 July 2022
  • ISBN: 9781529100761
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 320
  • RRP: $39.99
Categories:

About the author

Ava Reid

Ava Reid was born in Manhattan and raised right across the Hudson River in Hoboken, but currently lives in Palo Alto, where the weather is too sunny and the people are too friendly. She has a degree in political science from Barnard College, focusing on religion and ethnonationalism.

Also by Ava Reid

See all

Praise for Juniper & Thorn

Utterly astonishing. This masterful, complex retelling conjures the pure horror of powerlessness as modernity crashes into tradition, and bodies are transformed and consumed. Juniper & Thorn is the dark fairytale brought to perfection: terrible, and true, and full of teeth.

Shelley Parker-Chan, Sunday Times bestselling author of She Who Became the Sun

Ava Reid's spellbinding prose will draw you deep into this dark fantasy about three gifted sisters who are trapped by the magic of their wizard father. Thrumming with feminist power, and riveting in its worldbuilding, Juniper & Thorn is an unforgettable tale.

Ausma Zehanat Khan, author of The Bladebone

In this baroque Grimm retelling, Reid proves again that theirs is a powerful and essential voice. Through Marlinchen - a layered and unforgettable heroine, brought to life with immense compassion - she tells a tale of fear and survival, hope and yearning and defiance, in timelessly elegant prose. It will enchant you, break your heart, and chill you to the very marrow.

Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree

Reid expertly weaves a dark and delightful tale that packs a sting. Love, betrayal, and a heroine for our time. I absolutely loved this novel.

T. L. Huchu, author of The Library of the Dead

This is a dark and bloody tale, full of magic both otherworldly and familiar, and despite its monsters, it reads like comfort. After you read it, you'll start saving space on your shelf for Ava Reid.

Kendare Blake, New York Times bestselling author of Three Dark Crowns

A gothic masterpiece. Reid weaves threads of unsettling horror and abuse with astonishing empathy.

Kat Dunn, author of Dangerous Remedy

Juniper & Thorn is one of those books that buries itself beneath your skin and refuses to move. It has captured my mind entirely.

The Nerd Daily

PRAISE FOR THE WOLF AND THE WOODSMAN

:

Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut - a powerful and haunting tale of a young woman's will to live, of love flowering in defiance of tyranny. It will twine like a dark forest around your heart.

Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree

A thought-provoking, thrilling magical twist on the history of religion and politics that I couldn't put down. In her stunningly rendered - and frankly terrifying - forbidden forests, Reid conjures up some of the ghastliest monsters I've ever read, and yet never lets us forget the worst horrors are perpetuated by human hands

S.A. Chakraborty, bestselling author of The Empire of Gold

Gorgeously written and grimly real, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a bloody fable about two people caught in the jaws of history. It quite literally took my breath away. It has the unsettling-but-compelling gore of Henderson's The Year of the Witching, the folkloric lilt of The Bear and the Nightingale, and the moral complexity of Seeing Like a State. I'm obsessed.

Alix E. Harrow, Hugo-award winning author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January

Related titles