> Skip to content
  • Published: 2 July 2018
  • ISBN: 9780718185015
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $19.99

Ivy and Abe

The Epic Love Story You Won't Want To Miss




Two people. One love story. A million possibilities

Meet Ivy and Abe.

Childhood friends in the 1960s, Ivy and Abe were inseparable until a chance event tore them apart. Now in their early seventies, fate once again brings them together - both grey-haired, Ivy hand in hand with her grandson - to fill in the gaps of one another's lives. Each has experienced great passions as well as heart-breaking tragedies, but the time is finally right for them. Their love story seems, in the end, meant to be.

But what if, in a parallel universe, chance had intervened and they'd met sooner? What if they'd met in their forties, both married to other people, and began an affair? What if they'd met before then and married, but the daunting question mark over Ivy's health had suffocated Abe's love for her? What if, as lovestruck teenagers, one small moment had sealed their fate?

Ivy and Abe is a stunning novel about the different paths our lives might follow, and the different people we might become along the way.

  • Published: 2 July 2018
  • ISBN: 9780718185015
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $19.99

Also by Elizabeth Enfield

See all

Praise for Ivy and Abe

If you liked Jojo Moyes' Me Before You this is the perfect new read for you . . . a story for anyone who has ever wondered what if . . . ?

Woman's Weekly

If you liked David Nicholls' One Day or Jojo Moyes' Me Before You, you'll love this uplifting read

Take a Break

A beautiful story that explores what it is to have a soul mate. It made me cry a lot - in a good way! - but it also made me think, as all the best books do

Veronica Henry, author of A Night on The Orient Express

A moving and thought-provoking novel in the tradition of Sliding Doors and The Versions of Us. One for anyone who's ever wondered if things might have turned out differently

Alison Mercer

An epic love story

Araminta Hall, author of Everything and Nothing

Explores beautifully the way in which so-called ordinary lives play out

Sue Purkiss

Full of insight into the human experience

Dr. Suzanne O'Sullivan, author of It's All in Your Head

Gorgeous and clever

Joanna Nadin author of, The Queen of Bloody Everything

If you liked David Nicholls' One Day or Jojo Moyes' Me Before You, you'll love this uplifting read

Take a Break

Perfectly pitched, thought-provoking and nuanced

Sarah Rayner, author of 'Making Friends'

Think Sliding Doors meets One Day. Follow two childhood friends through the lives they could have had together and wonder if there's a right person for everyone or just a right time

Red Magazine

Beautiful, uplifting and wise. I surfaced from the last page, feeling as comforted as I was moved

Alison Macleod, author of Unexploded

Ivy and Abe are impossible to forget even after you've closed the book. Beautiful and wonderfully observed

Kate Harrison

The same pair of lovers find and lose each other through the decades . . . a novel full of emotional truth

Daily Mail

Related titles