> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 24 June 2015
  • ISBN: 9780241966549
  • Imprint: Penguin General UK
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 272
  • RRP: $22.99
Categories:

I Don't Know What It Is But I Love It


Formats & editions


Eye-watering, hilarious, and utterly unbelievable, this is the story of how they did it, and how their season was the last year of innocence in English football.

I Don't Know What It Is But I Love It by Tony Evans - Liverpool and the most unlikely success story in football
'Evans tells the story with gusto . . . the anecdotes are apt, and the blood on the streets and the boots on the field are as dramatic and black-humoured as on a battleground' The Times
Dalglish. Souness. Rush. Hansen. And, of course, Grobelaar. They rank with the very greatest players in one of the greatest teams of all time.
But the heroes of 1984 were an unlikely group to make history.
Led by a 63-year old first-time manager and a captain show-off better known for his moves on the dancefloor, Liverpool's greatest season was a booze-fuelled journey to three trophies: the first division title, the League Cup and the European Cup, won on a remarkable night in Rome. The team's theme song was even a much-derided Chris Rea hit.
Eye-watering, hilarious, and utterly unbelievable, this is the story of how they did it, and how their season was the last year of innocence in English football. This book is essential reading for fans of Red or Dead, 43 Years With The Same Bird: A Liverpudlian Love Affair and the memoirs of Steven Gerrard, Jamie Carragher and Kenny Dalglish.
'Superbly paced...full of riveting anecdotes' Mirror (Book of the Month)
Tony Evans has been football editor of The Times for five years and was born a Liverpool fan. He writes a weekly column for The Game, The Times' weekly football supplement.

  • Pub date: 24 June 2015
  • ISBN: 9780241966549
  • Imprint: Penguin General UK
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 272
  • RRP: $22.99
Categories:

About the Author

Tony Evans

Tony Evans is a former columnist and football editor for The Times, he is the author of Far Foreign Land and I Don’t Know What It Is, But I Love It, and is now a writer and pundit. Before becoming a journalist, he spent his twenties following Liverpool FC and playing in bands, including a stint with The Farm. He lives in London with his wife and daughter.

Also by Tony Evans

See all

Related titles