> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 July 2000
  • ISBN: 9780385603102
  • Imprint: Doubleday
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 736
  • RRP: $59.99

House Of Leaves



The cult classic.

DISCOVER THE CULT CLASSIC - for brave readers of STEPHEN KING, J G BALLARD and DAVID FOSTER WALLACE.
'Superbly inventive' GUARDIAN

'Thrillingly alive, sublimely creepy, distressingly scary, breathakingly intelligent' BRETT EASTON ELLIS
A young couple - Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Will Navidson and his partner Karen Green - move into a small home on Ash Tree Lane.

But something is terribly wrong - their house is bigger on the inside than it is on the outside.

Neither Will nor Karen are prepared to face the consequences of this impossibility.

What happens next is loosely recorded on videotapes and interviews, leading to a compilation of the definitive work on the events on Ash Tree Lane, unveiling a thrilling and terrifying history.

Loose sheets, stained napkins and crammed notebooks prove to be far more than the ramblings of a crazy old man . . .

For fans of Twin Peaks, Black Mirror, Stranger Things and IT.
___________________
WHAT READERS ARE SAYING:
'I've never read anything like it'
'Strange, highly addictive and slowly creepy'
'A book like no other'
'The creativity and originality is astonishing'
'Unreservedly recommended'
'Buy it, read it, and explore it'
___________________
Winner of the New York Public Library's Young Lions Fiction Award

  • Published: 15 July 2000
  • ISBN: 9780385603102
  • Imprint: Doubleday
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 736
  • RRP: $59.99

About the author

Mark Z Danielewski

Mark Z. Danielewski, son of a film director who co-founded the Sundance Film Festival, grew up in Utah, is in his mid-thirties and was educated at Harvard, where he was taught by Harold Bloom. He attended the most prestigious film school in America at the University of Southern California and has written a number of screenplays. His sister, Poe, is a cult rock star in the States.

Also by Mark Z Danielewski

See all

Praise for House Of Leaves

A great novel. A phenomenal debut. Thrillingly alive, sublimely creepy, distresingly scary, breathtakingly intelligent - it renders most other fiction meaningless. One can imagine Pynchon and Ballard and Stephen King and David Foster Wallace bowing at Mark's feet, choking with astonishment, surprise, laughter and awe. I feel privileged to be among its first readers. Will I ever recover?

Bret Easton Ellis

Related titles