> Skip to content
  • Published: 4 June 2019
  • ISBN: 9780099510659
  • Imprint: Windmill Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $19.99
Categories:

House of Gold




A captivating story of war, power and family from the author of The Song Collector, Natasha Solomons

Perfect for fans of THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE

'This has everything - engaging characters, a thrilling story and beautiful scenery' KATIE FFORDE
________________________
The start of a war. The end of a dynasty.

VIENNA, 1911. Greta Goldbaum has always dreamed of being free to choose her own life's path, but the Goldbaum family, one of the wealthiest in the world, has different expectations. United across Europe, Goldbaum men are bankers, while Goldbaum women marry Goldbaum men to produce Goldbaum children.

So when Greta is sent to England to marry Albert, a distant cousin she has never met, the two form an instant dislike for one another. Defiant and lonely, Greta longs for a connection and a place to call her own. When Albert's mother gives Greta a garden, things begin to change.

But just as she begins to taste an unexpected happiness, the Great War breaks out, threatening to tear everything away. For the first time in two hundred years, the family will find themselves on opposing sides. How will Greta choose between the family she's created and the one she was forced to leave behind?

  • Published: 4 June 2019
  • ISBN: 9780099510659
  • Imprint: Windmill Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $19.99
Categories:

About the author

Natasha Solomons

Natasha Solomons is the author of the internationally bestselling novels Mr Rosenblum's List, The Novel in the Viola, which was chosen for the Richard & Judy Book Club, and The Gallery of Vanished Husbands. Natasha lives in Dorset with her son, daughter and her husband, the children's author, David Solomons with whom she also writes screenplays. Her novels have been translated into 16 languages. When not writing in the studio, Natasha can usually be found in her garden.

Praise for House of Gold

This has everything - engaging characters, a thrilling story and beautiful scenery

Katie Fforde

One of the best writers of historical fiction working today ... Solomons knows how to draw readers into a particular place and time. And once you're there, you just don't want to leave

Goop

A triumph! So vividly and elegantly written, beautifully realised and populated with characters that live and breathe. I was hooked to it.

Katherine Webb, author of The Hiding Place

Solomons has a gift for constructing a well-paced narrative filled with surprises

Observer

Delightful and involving ... rich in atmosphere and character

Woman & Home

Natasha Solomons brilliantly sets the scene... A compelling read full of lavish detail, undercut by the realities of war and what it means to be Jewish in an anti-Semitic world

Sunday Express

Related titles