> Skip to content
  • Published: 31 May 2022
  • ISBN: 9780593428931
  • Imprint: RHUS Children's Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 224
  • RRP: $15.99

History Smashers: The Underground Railroad



Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth about the Underground Railroad and Black Americans' struggle for freedom. Perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.

Before the Civil War, there was a crack team of abolitionists who used quilts and signal lanterns to guide enslaved people to freedom. RIGHT? WRONG! The truth is, the Underground Railroad wasn't very organized, and most freedom seekers were on their own.

With a mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels, acclaimed author Kate Messner and coauthor and Brown Bookshelf contributor Gwendolyn Hooks deliver the whole truth about the Underground Railroad.

Discover the nonfiction series that smashes everything you thought you knew about history!

  • Published: 31 May 2022
  • ISBN: 9780593428931
  • Imprint: RHUS Children's Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 224
  • RRP: $15.99

Related titles