> Skip to content
  • Published: 7 November 2013
  • ISBN: 9781448191277
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 432

Green River Rising




'Green River Rising is a stunner - and may be the best prison novel ever' JAMES ELLROY. For fans of The Prophet, TheShawshank Redemption, The Green Mile and The Rock.

An edge-of-your-seat thriller for all fans of James Ellroy, Cormac McCarthy and John Grisham. For fans of TheShawshank Redemption, The Green Mile and The Rock.

After three years' hard time, minding no-one's business but his own, Ray Klein wins his parole. That same day, the disciplinary perfection of Green River State Penitentiary is torn apart by tribal war, and the prison falls into the hands of its inmates.

As the River sucks them all towards the abyss, Klein must choose either to claim his freedom and leave the ones he cares for to die, or risk everything and fight...

  • Published: 7 November 2013
  • ISBN: 9781448191277
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 432

About the author

Tim Willocks

Tim Willocks is a novelist, screenwriter and producer. Translated into twenty languages, his novels include The Religion, Bad City Blues, Green River Rising and Twelve Children of Paris. He has worked with major Hollywood directors, dined at the White House and holds a black belt in Shotokan karate.

Also by Tim Willocks

See all

Praise for Green River Rising

Green River Rising is a stunner – and may be the best prison novel ever. This is a book of dark alchemy: turbulent milieu, brilliantly etched characters, pure adrenaline-fuelled narrative – richly sustained and stylishly realised. Tim Willocks has crafted a superbly contained trip to hell that I urge you all to sign on for

James Ellroy

The best thriller since The Silence of the Lambs... Green River Rising is a brilliant entertainment...a powerful novel that will shock, and sell

Daily Telegraph

Gritty...brilliant...a compelling story of gripping pace and brutality, a thriller in the true sense of the word

GQ

This book should carry a warning: don’t bother reading if you’re afraid of being unable to put it down before the final page...a compelling, nightmarish canvas, marvellously painted... Green River Rising has the sure touch of a real craftsman

Publishing News

Maybe the best prison novel ever

James Ellroy

The best thriller since The Silence of the Lambs

Daily Telegraph

Savage, detailed, engrossing and guaranteed to leave a great livid bruise

Sunday Times

Related titles