> Skip to content
  • Published: 18 April 2016
  • ISBN: 9780552770026
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512
  • RRP: $22.99

Gentlemen & Players

the first in a trilogy of gripping and twisted psychological thrillers from bestselling author Joanne Harris




The first in Joanne Harris' Malbry Cycle of twisted psychological thrillers, followed by Blueeyedboy and Different Class.

TPerfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Susan Hill, Nicci French and Val McDermid, this is an astute and intelligent psychological thriller centring around obsession and rage from international multi-million copy seller Joanne Harris. Fast paced with unexpected twists and turns, it will get right under the skin...

'[A] gripping psychological thriller... Harris is one of our most accomplished novelists and Gentlemen & Players, with its pace, wit and acute observation, shows her at the top of her form' -- DAILY EXPRESS
'[A] delicious black comedy ... the plot is so cleverly constructed, the tension so unflagging, you'd think she'd been writing thrillers all her life' -- DAILY MAIL
'It kept me on the edge of my seat and I was thinking about it long after I turned the last page' -- ***** Reader review
'An intricate, engrossing novel' -- ***** Reader review
'Wonderfully, horribly plausible' -- ***** Reader review
'I read it in three days which is as close as I get to "couldn't put it down"' -- ***** Reader review
'Well written and enthralling' -- ***** Reader review
'A must read....' -- ***** Reader review
'Absolutely loved this book!' -- ***** Reader review

*******************************************************************************************
At St Oswald's, a long-established boys' grammar school in the north of England, a new year has just begun. For the staff and boys of the school, a wind of unwelcome change is blowing. Suits, paperwork and Information Technology rule the world; and Roy Straitley, the eccentric veteran Latin master, is finally - reluctantly - contemplating retirement.

But beneath the little rivalries, petty disputes and everyday crises of the school, a darker undercurrent stirs.

And a bitter grudge, hidden and carefully nurtured for thirteen years, is about to erupt.

The trilogy continues with blueeyedboy and Different Class.

  • Published: 18 April 2016
  • ISBN: 9780552770026
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512
  • RRP: $22.99

About the author

Joanne Harris

Joanne Harris’s Whitbread-shortlisted Chocolat was made into an Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp. She is the author of many other bestselling novels, including Lollipop Shoes and Peaches for Monsieur le Curé, both also featuring Vianne Rocher, as is her new novel The Strawberry Thief. She has also written acclaimed novels in such diverse genres as fantasy based on Norse myth (Runemarks, Runelight, The Gospel of Loki), and the Malbry cycle of dark psychological thrillers (Gentlemen & Players, Blueeyedboy, and Different Class).

Born in Barnsley, of an English father and a French mother, she spent fifteen years as a teacher before (somewhat reluctantly) becoming a full-time writer. In 2013, she was awarded an MBE. She lives in Yorkshire, plays bass and flute in a band first formed when she was sixteen, and works in a shed in her garden.

Also by Joanne Harris

See all

Praise for Gentlemen & Players

[A] gripping psychological thriller... Harris is one of our most accomplished novelists and Gentlemen & Players, with its pace, wit and acute observation, shows her at the top of her form

DAILY EXPRESS

[A] delicious black comedy ... the plot is so cleverly constructed, the tension so unflagging, you'd think she'd been writing thrillers all her life

DAILY MAIL

With a lightness of touch, Harris illuminates just how resentment of privilege and exclusion can lead to violent resolutions... Marvellously mischievous

GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

[A] clever story of obsession and revenge... Ms Harris has scored another success

SUNDAY TELEGRAPH

A classic whodunnit with the characters carefully crafted and the tension at a knife edge

SUNDAY EXPRESS (TOP TEN FICTION 2005)

A terrific and absorbing suspense novel, with a cast of characters you come to really care about and enough twists and turns to keep you on your toes

PETER ROBINSON

Book groups of the world, watch out

GUARDIAN

A wonderfully clever book, rich in atmosphere, crawling with fascinating characters, and packing a terrific surprise as well

Elizabeth George

[A] literary gobstopper with an aniseed heart ... wildly entertaining

INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY

A diverting and absorbing story which will delight her legions of fans

THE SCOTSMAN

Related titles