> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 June 2022
  • ISBN: 9781529176650
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $22.99

Dog Days

A funny, heart-warming, deeply emotional read about life-changing moments and hope




Described as 'perfect for fans of A MAN CALLED OVE and ELEANOR OLIPHANT' by bestselling author AJ Pearce, and likened by reviewers to SAVING MISSY by Beth Morrey, DOG DAYS is a heartbreaking, heartwarming bookclub read about turning points, new beginnings, and finding friendship in unexpected places.

'Perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant...Definitely one of my favourite novels of 2021' AJ Pearce, author of Dear Mrs Bird and Yours Cheerfully

'A charming, surprising and moving story of three troubled characters' encounter with love, grief, healing...and dogs' Clare Chambers, author of Small Pleasures
'Funny, sad, gritty and beautifully told.' Hazel Prior, author of Away with the Penguins
_______________________________________________

George is angry at the world. His wife has died and now all he wants to do is sit in his underpants and shout at the cricket. The last thing he needs is his cake-baking neighbour Betty trying to rescue him. And then there's the dog, a dachshund puppy called Poppy. George doesn't want a dog - he wants a fight.

Dan is a counsellor with OCD who is great at helping other people - if only he were better at helping himself. His most meaningful relationship so far is with his labrador Fitz. But then comes a therapy session that will change his life.

Lizzie is living in a women's refuge with her son Lenny. Her body is covered in scars and she has shut herself off from everyone around her. But when she is forced to walk the refuge's fat terrier, Maud, a new life beckons - if she can keep her secret just a while longer...

Dog Days is a novel about those small but life-changing moments that only come when we pause to let the light in. It is about three people learning to make connections and find joy and comfort in living life off the leash.

_________________________________________________


'A soulful, lyrical tale... Such a treat.' Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy

'Moving, uplifting, full of charm and warmth' Emma Stonex, author of The Lamplighters
'Tender, humorous and hopeful' Lissa Evans, author of V for Victory
__________________________________________________

Readers are moved by Dog Days:

***** 'A sentimental, exhilarating & deeply moving novel about accepting the ebb & flow of life & about grabbing those magical moments when you can...Dog Days is a book with a big heart and one you do not want to miss'
***** 'Life isn't perfect, it's messy & complicated but with small acts of kindness, there is always hope - a sentiment that is captured perfectly in this compelling debut'
***** 'Dog Days had me feeling all the emotions, it broke my heart and gently pieced it back together. '
***** 'Wonderful journey of three complicated characters and the dogs that saw them through their individual journeys'

  • Published: 15 June 2022
  • ISBN: 9781529176650
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $22.99

About the author

Ericka Waller

Ericka Waller lives in Brighton with her husband, three daughters and pets. Previously, she worked as a blogger and columnist. Dog Days is the sum of everything she has learned about love, loss and the healing power of dogs.
Twitter: @erickawaller1
Instagram @erickamary
http://muminthesouth.co.uk/

Praise for Dog Days

A Russian doll of a book that twists and tugs each outer husk, revealing delicate and poignant inner layers.

BETH MORREY, author of SAVING MISSY

Dog Days is a beautiful novel, filled with poignancy and humour. Ericka Waller looks closely at life with all its ghosts and new beginnings, finding glitter in the dark and hope where there is healing.

Rónán Hession, author of Leonard and Hungry Paul

A charming, surprising and moving story of three troubled characters' encounter with love, grief, healing.

CLARE CHAMBERS, author of SMALL PLEASURES

'A tender, complicated novel of love, loss and self-discovery.'

SUSAN WILSON, New York Times bestselling author of One Good Dog and What a Dog Knows

'Funny, sad, gritty and beautifully told, this story will make you look at life again and appreciate the small acts of kindness that make everything worthwhile.

HAZEL PRIOR, author of Away with the Penguins

Tender, humorous and hopeful

LISSA EVANS, author of V for Victory

With its tightly plotted twists Dog Days is an exhilarating, at times even vertiginous ride... The mix of human passion and canine good sense works triumphantly..

Ed Stourton, author of Diary of a Dog Walker

An emotional tour-de-force that will leave you with the whole-hearted understanding that dogs really do bring people (even the most unlikely of us) together.

Annie England Noblin, author of Sit, Stay, Speak and Pupcakes

Waller's tormented, endearing and intriguing characters cross paths as they walk dogs on the Sussex Downs in a bittersweet, touching novel of waggy tails, wet noses and tear-filled eyes.

SAGA

[A] Touching and thoughtful debut novel

RED

Easy to read and witty but full of pathos and sadness, this tightly plotted tale will bring you joy.

BEST

Waller has a lyrical way of weaving words that perfectly encapsulates a feeling or thought ... Funny, sad and reassuringly sage, Dog Days is a story of humanity, family and life.

Culturefly

If you enjoyed Beth Morrey's Saving Missy, you'll love this...both hilarious and moving.

Woman and Home

This was such an emotional read and the perfect mix of humour and heartache

GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

Both joyful and heartbreaking

HEAT

We loved this heartwarming story

CLOSER

The kind of charm readers will recall from Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine... a welcome balm for anxious lockdown minds... the book is gentle but poignant, moving but uplifting, suffused with different kinds of love and loss.

VANITY FAIR

Weaves together tales of man's best friend helping in the darkest days

HELLO! magazine

A charming novel that focuses on the healing properties of man and woman's best friend

Choice Magazine

Deftly drawn... a warm debut about loss, healing and making new connections

MAIL ON SUNDAY

A glorious read full of love and humour

THE IRISH EXAMINER

A beautifully written book... it's very hard to believe it's a debut novel. Ericka Waller peels back the layers of life and delves deep into the highs and lows of mental health, of loss, and of love.'

NEW BOOKS MAGAZINE

Hilarious and moving, it recognises the unconditional love of dogs and their ability to make the world a better place

WOMAN'S WEEKLY

Combines two total opposites - sorrow and joy. The way Waller makes the two work together is outstanding

FEMALE FIRST magazine

A charming novel that focusses on the healing powers of man and woman's best friend

CHOICE Magazine

'Moving, uplifting, full of charm and warmth, [Dog Days] gave me much paws for thought. Such great characterisation, too - by the end, George, Dan et al felt like family!

EMMA STONEX, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE LAMPLIGHTERS

Perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant, Ericka Waller's wonderful debut is both laugh out loud funny and immensely moving. Definitely one of my favourite novels of 2021, Dog Days is an absolute delight.

AJ Pearce, author of Dr Mrs Bird

Related titles