> Skip to content
  • Published: 16 March 2021
  • ISBN: 9780857527240
  • Imprint: Doubleday
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $32.99

Dog Days

A life-affirming, poignant, moving story about three characters you'll never forget




With a brilliant cast of memorable characters, DOG DAYS has all the ingredients to become a book club bestseller. An uplifting, heartwarming novel about turning points, new beginnings, and unexpected friendship for fans of The Authenticity Project, Saving Missy and Aferlife.

The kind of charm readers will recall from Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine' VANITY FAIR
'Funny, sad, gritty and beautifully told.' HAZEL PRIOR, author of AWAY WITH THE PENGUINS
'A soulful, lyrical tale... Such a treat.' BETH MORREY, author of SAVING MISSY

George is very angry. His wife has upped and died on him, and all he wants to do is sit in his underpants and shout at the cricket. The last thing he needs is his cake-baking neighbour Betty trying to rescue him. And then there's the dog, a dachshund puppy called Poppy. George doesn't want a dog - he wants a fight.

Dan is a counsellor with OCD who is great at helping other people - if only he were better at helping himself. His most meaningful relationship so far is with his labrador Fitz. But then comes a therapy session that will change his life.

Lizzie is living in a women's refuge with her son Lenny. Her body is covered in scars and she has shut herself off from everyone around her. But when she is forced to walk the refuge's fat terrier, Maud, a new life beckons - if she can keep her secret just a while longer...

Dog Days is a novel about those small but life-changing moments that only come when we pause to let the light in. It is about three people learning to make connections and find joy in living life off the leash.

'Tender, humorous and hopeful' LISSA EVANS, author of V for Victory

'This was such an emotional read and the perfect mix of humour and heartache' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

'A charming, surprising and moving story of three troubled characters' encounter with love, grief, healing...and dogs' CLARE CHAMBERS, author of SMALL PLEASURES

'A novel to cherish . . . a refreshingly inventive, rejuvenating story of the intertwining lives of three people and their dogs . . . poignant and delightful in equal measure.' MARY LOUDON, author of My House is Falling Down
'A beautiful novel, filled with poignancy and humour. Ericka Waller looks closely at life, finding glitter in the dark and hope where there is healing.' RÓNÁN HESSION, author of Leonard and Hungry Paul

  • Published: 16 March 2021
  • ISBN: 9780857527240
  • Imprint: Doubleday
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $32.99

About the author

Ericka Waller

Ericka Waller lives in Brighton with her husband, three daughters and pets. Previously, she worked as a blogger and columnist. Dog Days is the sum of everything she has learned about love, loss and the healing power of dogs.
Twitter: @erickawaller1
Instagram @erickamary
http://muminthesouth.co.uk/

Related titles